reflections

I don’t do resolutions. I never, ever could keep them. But on New Year’s day I do stop to reflect. This day I am at a point where I can think about what I’ve done and where I am. What were my fears and hopes last year when I reflected. Have I moved forward, fallen short of my expectations? There are a thousand questions to ask myself, but it really comes down to have I kept on the path or have I strayed. The answer gives me the next year to adjust my path.

I try not to think too much, once a year is usually enough. However January 1st is almost always a good day for a bicycle ride. Happy thinking…

almost always a good day for a ride

almost always a good day for a ride

34 Comments on “reflections”

  1. coalkissed says:

    What a wonderful idea. I like yours much more than the resolutions :-)

  2. I like to the do New Year reflections too and some self-analysis. The last time I did a resolution it was to stand up straight and not lean into the sink when I brush my teeth! I’m happy you are well and riding your bike … in the snow?

  3. Kristi says:

    Wanted to write you also have stars in your eyes…but no need to see your eyes to see how happy you are riding a bike in a snow. :D Btw, that’s the same reason I don’t do resolutions.

  4. mselene says:

    Oh, if only I only thought once a year. ;) I’m ready for spring, for some warm thinking weather!

  5. Joyce says:

    Bill, how do you manage to ride your bike in that snow and not fall, flip or slip over ice or snow? It is great what you do (giving and providing bikes to children). Love that. My little grandson (6) and granddaughter (3) both got new bikes for Christmas. Alyssa (the 3 yr. old) got her first one, a 12 in. wheel size. So, is learning what to do with it. My husband and I give to a lot of ministries and charities over the year, but especially true at Christmas that it is more blessed to give than receive. Back to the bike riding. That was a love and passion I had as a child, riding my bike although it was an old one of my sisters, as we came from a pastor’s family and my father was not exactly rolling in the bucks being a full time church pastor, but the blessings and riches came in other ways. :) So, I did not know myself what it was like to receive a new bike as a kid, until I grew up, became and adult and could buy my own then when my husband and I bought ourselves new bikes. Then when my knees became so bad with arthritis and I had a knee replacement I could not get back into riding my bike again due to the lack of coordination and motor skills needed. Stay safe while out on that bike and keep enjoying what you do.

    • billgncs says:

      Hi Joyce — riding in the winter is quite a bit of fun. You let out the pressure on the tires until there is only five or ten pounds. You don’t go fast, and the wheel spins a bit like surfing but it’s pleasant to shift your weight to keep upright.

      We had things but our house was never filled with love,

      Still, I remember that red bike under the tree when I was about 8. I don’t know if you saw the charity Jan and I setup on 2wheels2kids.wordpress.com – it’s a chance to give some kids that feeling.

      • Joyce says:

        I did see the charity, and love what you do. My husband Wayne and I give to Samaritan’s Purse monthly to all their national and international relief projects, Terry Law Ministries and several others besides our own church missions and local projects and some in local charity events we trust. One can sometimes overextend themselves though when on a retirement’s and social security monthly check, like we are now that Wayne retired in 2012. So, we kind of work out of a budget, but I would enjoy giving to your bike charity thing if your still doing it by next Christmas and I remember to inquire then about it. :) I remember the joy I got when we put together Christmas shoebox gifts for the Operation Christmas child project of Samaritans Purse. It was so much fun. I was the third daughter of 3 so kind of got the handed down bikes my sisters used first. I do have a wonderful Schwinn programmable recumbent bicycle of my own in our basement family room that I use and really helps strengthen my knees and legs after having surgery and is good for the arthritic joints. :)

  6. Clanmother says:

    You are a brave soul!! Brrrr!!!! :)

  7. I love bicycling on snow and ice… always switch to studded tires for winter.. but alas no ice, and no snow here yet.

  8. Shannon says:

    Brrr! I like to do the same!

  9. Thinking what’s that? ;-) I just saw your response about your test, I hope the follow up tests are all clear! Happy bike riding and Happy New year!

  10. A good slippery ride. Good reflections.

  11. Eric Alagan says:

    Long bicycle rides or long walks – great way to reflect.

    May your journeys in 2014 be one filled with joy :-)

  12. And…? How’d you do?

    I don’t understand people who ride their bikes in the snow… ;)

  13. God give you and yours comfort, strength and for you especially clear tests from here on out!

  14. M. R. says:

    “Cancer-free in 2013″?? You are one of the very few lucky ones, and I congratulate you. I never resent those who made it, even though my husband didn’t: why would I? – he never would have!

    • billgncs says:

      I am so sorry for your lost. Cancer is a terrible foe. There are more who make it now days, medicine is giving people a better chance.

      It haunts, I just failed a test with followup tests in spring.

  15. susank456 says:

    2014 will be a great year for both of us, I am positive. Happy riding!

  16. Resa says:

    Good thinking! Happy riding!

  17. Always a great day to get out there! Hugs!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,099 other followers