winding down

With the merger winding down, my team will soon disperse. We managed a thousand servers which supported over seven billion dollars in sales. These guys met every challenge, innovated, standardized and automated – truly rock stars. The stress was great and they never faltered.

The million dollar team

The million dollar team

But we had fun too….

phhhhhffffttttt

phhhhhffffttttt

15 Comments on “winding down”

  1. Imelda says:

    It is sad saying goodbye to co-worker/friends. They are almost like family.

  2. shaunynews says:

    Well done..

    …On the fart machine I mean
    ;-)

  3. Resa says:

    I know how you feel about the team dispersing! Best wishes to all for the future!
    And …. “hahaha” re: fart machine! “hahaha” “lol” :D

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    Mergers and acquisitions – a handful count money – but actually it’s all about people.

    Throughout my decades striding along corporate corridors, we went through several M&A’s and recessions. I’m proud to say not one – not one – of my people were ever made redundant. The bosses had to go through me and no one dared! But I do admit that it cost me plenty – and ultimately my job in two of the four firms I worked. But even after I left – my people remained.

    This, more than all the top and bottom lines, I view as my greatest achievement – saving jobs, careers and livelihoods.

    Power and authority – to do one’s job well, and, to help others!

    Wish you all the best, Bill

    Peace,
    Eric

  5. Dream teams are awesome! Pardon me for saying so, but y’all look so techy and straight and tall and proud and so I pictured you in Captain Kirk circa 1960’s Star Trek uniforms and comm badges and it works! Wouldn’t you agree (minus the fart machine)?
    Diana xo

    • billgncs says:

      for many years I held off from getting a smart phone so I could snap open my “communicator” – and yes, we might have gone to a SiFy convention or three :)

      • haha doesn’t surprise me!

        • billgncs says:

          The other day I was talking to one of the guys and he used the word instantiate in a sentence. I thought “wow, don’t hear that often…”

          • I’ve never heard that word, I’m looking it up!

            in·stan·ti·ate [in-stan-shee-eyt] Show IPA

            verb (used with object), in·stan·ti·at·ed, in·stan·ti·at·ing.
            to provide an instance of or concrete evidence in support of (a theory, concept, claim, or the like).

            Cool so maybe today I will find opportunity to say to someone “Instantiate that claim!”


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers