the art of Sushi – food

We live about as far from the coast as one can get ( Chicagoland ) but Naperville has some excellent sushi restaurants. There are three, that form the Sushi-trinity near by and we try to alternate between them when heading out for lunch. This week it was Sushi House in Warrensville. It’s a small place but really provides excellent food.

We started out with a tempura roll, which includes battered shrimp in the center. It’s crunchy and tasty.

Tempura in sushi - isn't that cheating

Tempura in sushi – isn’t that cheating

Next we had smoked salmon and Unagi ( barbequed eel ) – I have to admit the eel is my favorite of all time, one of those “last meal” type of flavors.

Smoked salmon and bbq eel

Smoked salmon and bbq eel

Being hockey season, we had to try their special “Black Hawk Roll” which featured the team colors in roe on top.

in the team colors with roe on top

in the team colors with roe on top

In celebration of spring we tried the “winter/spring” roll – artistically my favorite, it was almost sad to devour it, but we did, with gusto. Squid on the outside, spicy tuna and avacado on the inside, and roe providing the spring buds on top.

my favorite in presentation

my favorite in presentation

For the finale, a bit of ice cream, two mochi balls with a touch of chocolate sauce.

Mochi - little ice cream balls wrapped in a sweet rice dough.

Mochi – little ice cream balls wrapped in a sweet rice dough.

29 Comments on “the art of Sushi – food”

  1. elainecanham says:

    Gosh, that’s yummy. Best Sushi bar I ever went to was in the Rockies, and that’s pretty far from the sea, too.

  2. I have been to some of the best sushi restaurants in NYC and ordered chicken. I never had sushi, I never wanted to try. But in your pictures it looks amazing… I am thinking it is about time I should try…I will let you know when that happens. :-)

  3. Imelda says:

    They look good. Now I crave those salmon sushi.

  4. Not a sushi person but I did go with an old boss to a sushi restaurant and had the Mochi. The favorite part of the meal. :-)

  5. Reblogged this on Ace Food and Health News 2014 and commented:
    #AceRecipeNews – Art of Sushi

  6. Eric Alagan says:

    Unagi is one of my favourites too – and it all hinges on the sauce, I reckon :-)

  7. Resa says:

    There is a Japanese line in my family. They make the best “veggie” sushi for me, (I’m with Diana on the gagging) but I know your menu is more exciting to most. “lol” I always say don’t go to any trouble… but …. they always do!

    • billgncs says:

      We are about 75% vegan, almost all the meals Jan makes at home are meat free. But when we go to France, like we will this summer… I admit we trust the chef :)

  8. You make me feel like I’m missing so much in my resistance to sea food but nahhhh. I’m all over that dessert though!

    Diana xo


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers