father’s day thoughts

My dad was a tough guy. Never said much about difficulty. In fact I found an old journal of his where all he said about being on the beach in Normandy was “It was hell.”

One of my daughters played basketball. Often we would ride our bikes over to a nearby playground and shoot baskets and play one-on-one. One day my twelve year old hops on her bike with the ball under her left arm, right hand for steering and off she goes with me following. Two blocks from home, I see her reach her right hand over to the left side to shift gears and wham it’s “Hello pavement meet girl.”

A neighbor lady who was out walking saw the spill and sprints up making comforting noises. I ride up, “You’re OK, let’s go.” Leaving a stunned neighbor, mouth agape as off we go.

About a block later as we silently ride on I glance over at my ever game companion and she is cuts and scrapes and blood all over. “Uhhh… maybe we should turn around and let your mom check you out.” Remember girls, Webbs gotta be tough, just not that tough.

Happy Father’s day kids, thanks for putting up with the learning curve.

21 Comments on “father’s day thoughts”

  1. Joyce says:

    Really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing. Sorry to have gotten here a bit after Father’s Day to read it. As a mother we want certain qualities in our girls. (I have two, 36 and 44), both mothers also. My oldest was a tomboy who hated wearing dresses, loves and loved wearing Nikes, Levis, and tee shirts, acted too touch sometimes but not do things her ‘girly’ sister would do like skydive and bungee jump. I think a girl is maybe balanced if she has a bit of the adventurous spirit, but with some softness between her knuckles, sweetness in her smile and a gentle heart. But, like with boys and everyone, we’re all unique and with our own style and perspective on life. But, if your girls can be and are confident, responsible, self assured with a bit of toughness, too, then those are all great qualities to have. And with a mother like Janet, I bet they are. :)

    • billgncs says:

      Hi Joyce – you’re still on our visit list. If you ever stop by Chicago do let us know.

      The one thing about women is that I believe the civilize the men. What the women accept for behavior sets the standard.

      I really saw that point illustrated when I coached an inner city girls basketball team. What many accepted, which was less than they deserved hurt them greatly.

      So kindness and goodness are very fine traits in a woman.

      One of these days we will get out your way. It would be fun to stop by and say hello. Take care.

      • Joyce says:

        Yes, do that (visit) when you come out this way. We would love that. I liked what I saw of Chicago too, but was so many years ago, decades I think that I cannot remember a lot except for the ‘loop’ when I was there. :)

  2. Kristi says:

    Haha …..I think it comes naturally for fathers than mothers to toughen their kids. I smiled when I read….you’re ok, let’s go…..my husband says the same to ours. As a mother panic and ask ….Are you ok? let me help you. But kids need both…..the perfect balance. Hope you had a great fathers day?

  3. This is such a neat glimpse into 3 generations of your family. It always amazes me how our WWII vets just didn’t talk about their experiences. My dad died in that War–before Normandy. Sometimes I wonder if that wasn’t the kinder thing.

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    I don’t know if I could have done – if my girls were hurt – putting on a tough facet and riding off.

    Thank you for sharing about your Dad too.

    Peace,
    Eric

  5. Fun story. Have a Happy Father’s Day

  6. Resa says:

    Happy Father’s Day, Bill! :-)

  7. Cannot cry over everything can we? I always tell my girls to “wipe it off”. I am sure your daughter will never forget that. She was lucky to have a dad that would do those things with her–many kids don’t. Happy Father’s day!

  8. Reminds me of the commercial during the Stanley Cup of the two women on the treadmills. “I’m alright.” :-)

  9. Nice story, and happy father’s day!

  10. Cara Thereon says:

    Happy Father’s Day to you. :)

  11. Happy Father’s Day Bill – your girls are lucky to have you!
    Diana xo

  12. Clanmother says:

    Happy Father’s Day!!! I agree, my son has helped me with my learning curve! :)

    • billgncs says:

      that learning curve… “Even the wise cannot see all ends” – Tolkien

      • Clanmother says:

        I got goosebumps when I read your response. A perfect quote for a perfect day! I was thinking especially of my father who passed a couple of years ago. He remains ever present in my thoughts and memories, a guiding hand. It is a reminder that we must create memories for those who will continue on after us…
        I do enjoy our conversations.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,080 other followers