32

Each day I am stronger, I feel it in my heart.

But when we go out to ride with the group, it is all I can do to hold a wheel ( stay close enough to the person ahead of you to draft and gain efficiency from reduced wind resistance ).  It is almost 3 months after the thyroid surgery, and one month after the radiation, it just seems I should be stronger.   But either way, the dog still fights on.

Today we headed out toward Fermi Labs, that dichotomy of a park where on top you see fisherman, buffalo in the field and pass bogs where  frogs croak a symphony that starts softly as we approach, rises to an ear shattering crescendo, and then fades gently out of range as we cruise on.   Underneath this  wood and field hides a giant cyclotron, where physicists try to know the hand of God.  We merely fight the wind which shifts  half way to reward us with a headwind out and back.

Thirty two miles at the end, and again I am so spent, that my story falls into a few fragmented memories.

The bogs where the invisible frogs croak like a thousand birds singing.  Heather giving me a pull when I was floundering

Following closely
Auburn hair shining in the wind
The joy of movement

And the glass of ice water at the end.

 

10 Comments on “32”

  1. billgncs says:

    Thank you Jele, if I may call you that, I always look forward to your comments, and your posts.

  2. jelebelle says:

    Yes, such a lovely passage. you are stringer each day! No shoulds….just be and grow back to the new you. Be well…

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    It is interesting you say ‘a glass of ice water’

    Over here, after a hard ride generally we drink room-temperature water – we believe the sudden temperature extremes might not be great for the body…I picked this up during my first trip to Indonesia (about 200 years ago)

  4. This is beautifully written–and I hope you keep going from strength to strength.

    • billgncs says:

      Thanks — sometimes it is hard to admit weakness, but perhaps one of the benefits of being older is we don’t need so much to pretend to be who we are not.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

