the love cup

When my daughters were very small, they would bounce between ecstatic and sad as all young children do. There is no half stepping of emotions for the very young, they light the room or cast us all into dismal despair.

When they were down, I would tell them to come to me, and I would take them in my arms and say that people have an invisible cup that no one else can see and it is called the love cup. And when it is empty the best way to make it full again is with a hug. I would tell them, let me fill your love cup for mine is overflowing.

So I would ask as I held them, can you feel it? Can you feel the love flowing? Can you feel me filling your love cup? They would reply in their soft little voices, and tell me just a little more, or I’m half full, or still empty, or now I’m overflowing. Soon they would wander off to play or explore and grow. I think that they spoke true in that honesty only the very young have. They could feel the love flow between us, I know I could.

May your love cup be always full.

3 Comments on “the love cup”

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    What a wonderful approach to sharing and helping your lovelies grow.

  2. This is and was only one of the wonderful things you shared with the girls. Wonderful fathers are a true blessing.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

