second chances

When my father came back from World War Two, he was damaged in body and soul.
He had been exposed to tuberculosis and had survived such carnage that the question
of why me would haunt him the rest of his days.

In one of the few times he spoke of his war experiences, he told me that
sometimes you have to decide what’s it going to be, live or die. He chose
to live and did his best.

I think it has to be more than that. I think we have to ask, how will I embrace
life. One day out of cancer’s grasp, I choose to live honorably, and I pray
God grants me the strength to do so.

4 Comments on “second chances”

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    To live with honour > a wonderful and worthy resolution.

  2. thirdplan8 says:

    Amen!! I will be praying for you!!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

