comfort zone

Can I risk to love you, and open up my heart
trust you, like the surgeon placing  sterile ice
to quell each rhythmic contraction,
artery and valve repaired and let the beating start.

How could I trust some surgeon more than you,
when with eyes closed, I can trace each subtle
curve that makes you whole and real to me,
find the outline of your smile, the sweetness of your lips.

Shall this healing act begin with sunlight and curtains wide
fingertips your hand in mine, and laughter bubbling, rising
to the surface of the spring of youth that you and I have shared
we will tiptoe near the shore, snaring every moment that is there

Let not our love be needy, as we, no longer children, know
that in fusion of our souls, we cannot grow
but instead with independent strength in love as all we do
lets us smile and say to all, I choose you.

4 Comments on “comfort zone”

  1. billgncs says:

    thanks … I’m glad you read it.

  2. emjayzed says:

    truly beautiful words and sentiment.

  3. thirdplan8 says:

    Wonderful!!!! And guess what? I nominated you for an award!!!

    • billgncs says:

      thanks, you are very kind. The poem wasn’t quite polished as I would have liked, for it was late when I posted it. But it is honest. There is no mask behind it, that gives me the idea for the next post. The mask behind us. I will see if it bears fruit.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

