electronic disconnect

I sometimes wonder if computers connect us or isolate us.

electronic touch
fantasy of hopelessness
waiting for email

sunshine, summer day
beckoning computer screen
incandescent sun

Sincere words touch me
No eyes or facial movements
trusting foolish man

How does one judge sincerity in virtual space
where words cost so little, and eyes never meet.

16 Comments on “electronic disconnect”

  1. Tapish Gupta says:

    haha.. points put up are totally true.

  2. Exactly how I feel!!! Great job!!

  3. Archana says:

    Love this piece!
    i know exactly what you mean, twice over! 😀

  4. I love this piece. I especially love the line “waiting for an email”.

  5. Boomie Bol says:

    Great question…a friend once told me it’s ” false intimacy” thinking even though we don’t see or touch we can still somehow connect…

  6. There have been times when I was having coffee/tea with my best friend and her (I shall leave the brand nameless) smartphone was on the table like a third, unwelcome person. I wanted to take it and (nicest solution) put it in her purse where she couldn’t see it all the time!! It’s so annoying to be talking to, or trying to talk to someone, when they have their eyes and attention, at least partially, on their phone or laptop!! Rather rude on their part, I think. If the laptop is out, looking at me so I know they’re listening would be an acceptable solution.

  7. good questions…..people used to feel the same way when phones came into being and tvs and radios…. remember when people sat around the table at meal times and talked? I miss that.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

