i have no wings

100 words exactly, inspired by this picture at the blog by Madison Woods.
http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/photo-prompt-for-100-word-flash-fridayfictioneers-34/

I have no wings but still I fly
soaring on spokes of steel and rubber
where tire kisses earth

Narrow path twisting, winding like
promises sweetly whispered in the night
never intended to be kept

feet locked to pedals like the heart
clipped in with no release, no escape
except abrupt, violent separation

based on route and line I cannot choose
gravity pulls, compels, speeds my choice
acting in the moment, my wheel becomes my guide

the path will turn and I blinded follow
as your light pulls me down into where I do not know
but gladly deeper go

12 Comments on “i have no wings”

  1. What an apt metaphor! You got every word right. I didn’t feel a single pang of dissonance throughout. Great poem.

    • billgncs says:

      thanks — I usually write, then do one proof pass. This one was limited to 100 words, so the culling meant replacing pairs of passive verbs with more powerful action verbs. It helped quite a bit. Glad you liked it.

      • I noticed the continuity. Often writers make the mistake of switching tenses which interrupts the flow. I thought you were paying attention to words. One word can destroy a piece. It’s smart to look at each one. I like that.

        • billgncs says:

          I think that in a picture a single detail or angle can add so much meaning and depth. Words are the same way. I struggle a bit with proper grammar which makes poetry nicer since the rules are relaxed. I cannot draw, but when I write I try to create vivid images. Sometimes I come close.

  2. Madison Woods says:

    On a trail like that it must get the adrenaline flowing when you can’t see what’s around the bend though. That’s the first cycling poem I think I’ve ever read – very nice 🙂 Thanks for joining us!

  3. kevinmayne says:

    Fantastic. For years I have been doing cycling speeches with the theme that cycling is as close as many people will ever get to flying, it is nice to see it expressed in poetry

    • billgncs says:

      thanks for reading, can there be anything better than a long smooth straight away with just a hint of a tailwind.

      Or tucked in the pace line doing high 20’s low 30’s, I swear my wheels don’t touch the ground.

  4. billgncs says:

    thanks! I first saw it on your blog.

    • billgncs says:

      thanks! Glad you liked it. I don’t write for approval, I write these because the words want to come out, but it is nice to have acknowledgement.

  5. boomiebol says:

    Wow i love it..so well done!!!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

