father’s day

I always felt that the more you love, the more you can love. And while I admit the teenage years can test that theory, my love for my two daughters has never failed. And it is true, the more you love the more you can love. The heart’s ability to love grows without bounds if we just let it.

You know by now that I always sign my emails “Dad loves Shannon”, or “Dad loves Megan”. It is because even though you are out in the world now no matter what happens I want you to know that I believe in you, and love you.

Dad Loves Megan
Dad Loves Shannon

( ps — don’t forget nothing good happens after midnight ) ( smile )

12 Comments on “father’s day”

  1. emjayzed says:

    Truly beautiful – I love Shannon’s response and your response to Shannon 🙂

  2. Shannon says:

    I always run into this problem when trying to write a father’s day card; I don’t think there are words othan than simply “Dad” to describe how you feel about someone who is always there for you, who knows all of your flaws but loves you anyway, who has flaws, but you love anyway, is not just a parent like when you were young, but becomes a dear friend you treasure spending time with as you get older, is so wise, is so inspiring, is the person you want to call to share your greatest achievements and dissappointments with, and is the person you are lucky enough to have to make proud or to dissappoint. I can never find the words to tell you how happy I am that you are MY DAD and how much I love you…all I can say is I’m so glad, that you are MY DAD!

    …and that I’m the only one who had to follow the 12pm curfew. 😉 You guys let Megan of easy.

  3. billgncs says:

    laughing, I did catch grief over that.

  4. jelebelle says:

    Happy fathers day! Sounds like your girls are lucky and loved so sweetly! Give em til at least 1am though 😉

  5. hahaha Nothing good happens after midnight! When my daughter was little and would ask how old she had to be to date, I always said 30!

  6. boomiebol says:

    Love it…nothing good happens after midnight…I am stealing this for when my little munchkins are older :). I love father daughter relationships…so heavenly so divine…your daughters are blessed to have a dad like you. Thanks for sharing this

    • billgncs says:

      I think fathers are crucial in many ways, especially how will a young woman understand how she is to be treated if she hasn’t seen it modeled in the men in her life?

      If I ever hear my kids saying the “midnight” phrase when they have teenagers, I will laugh until my sides break!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

