king of piercings — old school

I don’t think I am a tyrant but I might have once told my lovely teen daughters that getting a tattoo or piercing was their way of telling me they were ready to be an adult and take over their own expenses for room and board and pay for their own college.

I can’t quite recall telling those two jewels of my heart that I would take sandpaper and remove any tattoo they got. And if my oldest wanted to believe that, well I just smiled, (but my youngest knew I would never do anything that cruel ).

And now their bodies are their own, the tumultuous teen years past and look at me…. I’m pierced.

last hand pic, I promise…

30 Comments on “king of piercings — old school”

  1. emjayzed says:

    That is pretty awesome! Amazing what medicine can do these days – fix your busted hand and give you a cool piercing at the same time!!

    • billgncs says:

      my inner child is a punker waiting to escape! ( smile )

      • emjayzed says:

        Punker, lol! I like that terminology 🙂

        I have a nose ring, does that make me a punker?!

        • billgncs says:

          laughing, no, but I detect a bit of that inner “wild child!”

          I always wanted to ask someone, can you take it out?

          • emjayzed says:

            haha, you are very clever sir!

            And yes, I can take it out quite easily if I choose – very similar to an earring in that way.

            I wear it to work in a corporate office (along with a few, small, feminine tattoos) and no-one has said anything. I’m not sure they would. Perhaps they too detect my inner “wild child” and don’t want to mess with her 😉

            I used to wear a stud (like a little pole) but, um, er… I’m embarrassed to say I accidentally punched myself in the face during a boxing session (yeah, BIG ouch as it nearly pierced the other side!). SInce then I’ve preferred the rounded shape of the ring – less “intrusive”!

  2. I’m a teenager and even I think that is scary!!!!!! 😮 It was hard enough to get my ears pierced and that’s all I’m getting done. Does it hurt much? It looks painful.

  3. sylv says:

    Ow that looks somewhat painful. But good on you for doing what you want 😉 I have seven piercings myself, but I kept them all on the ears, otherwise I’d get fed up with them.

    • billgncs says:

      actually these wires ony remain until my broken bone heals.

      do you change youy jewelery often? Are they hard to manage?

      bw

      • sylv says:

        Well I feel silly now. But also relieved, because that is a scary place to get a piercing. Hope your bone heals soon!
        I change my earrings all the time and I really don’t have to do anything to manage them. Ear piercings are pretty simple.

        • billgncs says:

          ( smile ) sorry to have tricked you —

          Of all the things to shop for ( which I hate ) I enjoy buying jewelery for my wife and daughters. You will make someone a happy shopper!

  4. billgncs says:

    do you really? what does it say? I must say, newest of daughters, that you might not get that cookie after dinner tomorrow. ( smile ) — but you should like tomorrow’s post.

  5. TheOthers1 says:

    This is usually one of the few things that grosses me out, but the angle makes it okay. Now all you need is a tattoo and you’re set.

  6. globalunison says:

    Gosh!! My daddy’s so brave!! I loved it – yeah it may be “ouchy” for the ladies out there but it really isn’t! I have a tattoo at the back of my neck and I hope ya are okay with it huh [Wink] – I don’t need sand papers!!
    Bravo for the piercing!!!
    -Naima.

  7. Looks like a Friday Fictioneers prompt. 🙂

  8. That looks horrible! ooops in door voice Diana….I mean to say how lovely, I hope you heal quickly….

  9. OUCH OUCH OUCH!!!!!! looks red is it infected?


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

