that darn horse

Blackjack was spooky. Sure, he might have a big roman head, and mule like ears, but he was athletic and energetic. Big and strong he could eat up the miles, just pull his head in gently with the reins, squeeze him with your legs and he would foxtrot forever. Small obstacles or streams in the way, Blackjack could sprout wings and fly over them.

Blackjack ( on right )

Did I mention he was spooky? Not mean or scary, I think he just thought it was fun to be terrified by a little grey squirrel or a pheasant flushed from the grass nearby. He might stop dead, feet splayed while he gazed in terror at a new branch he just noticed. Or, in the blink of an eye he might whirl 90 degrees, leaving you amazed at his strength but annoyed. Then it’s just turn him around, give him a kick to get him moving pat his neck and say “You knucklehead!”

Blackjack at ease

Puffing hard from the run up to Bob Hall pasture I pulled him in to catch his breath. Above us the clear blue Wyoming sky, ahead Black Tooth peak glistened a giant cavity in its glacier shawl. To our right, a young mule deer buck, rack ensconsed in velvet looks quizically at us, wondering
what this two headed monster can be.

“Watch that buck boy”, I pat his neck my gaze now on the splendor that surrounds us. I hear Megan riding Chief coming up behind us. Out of the corner of my eye I see the buck jump. Without warning, Blackjack vaults six feet to the left. I am stil on, barely, my right stirrup swinging free when he looks back as if to say “You’re stil here?”, hops one foot more to the left sending me tumbling gently down…

28 Comments on “that darn horse”

  1. Bodhirose says:

    I once went riding with my two young daughters and their friends at a ranch…I was given a horse to ride that would kick the other horses if they got too close…they gave that horse to me??? Someone totally inexperienced??? It was not fun trying to keep that big nut away from the other horses! I totally understand the telepathy thing…I have that with my cat…believe it or not! I really love that people and animals can have that type of relationship…very cool. And don’t we all have our own minds…why not them too?!

    Gotta get to bed…was at a wedding this afternoon…well into the night…so tired. Goodnight, Bill..thanks for sharing your knuckle-headed horse story! πŸ™‚

  2. Bodhirose says:

    I’ve never gotten to know a horse. My grandfather had a horse when I was little. My nephew’s wife has horses and trains them for a living…but I’ve never gotten to know one. I’ve heard though how they do have their interesting personalities… I feel a bit (no, a lot) intimidated by those big animals! πŸ™‚ They’d probably want to “mess with me” and freak me out wouldn’t they!

    • billgncs says:

      I think that we freak ourselves out when it comes to their size. But for my wife and daughters who rode since they were little there is a communication that borders telepathy. It is really body language and posture, but it speaks to an incredible intimacy.

      Few things approach the feeling when a large horse head down, ears relaxed crosses the corral to be near you.

      But they do have their own minds for sure.

  3. Bodhirose says:

    What a knucklehead! Oh, my goodness…spooky is right… kinda makes him a bit endearing though I bet…or…maybe not so much.. πŸ™‚

  4. emjayzed says:

    I love your horse stories! I always wanted a horse when I was a kid but never had the opportunity unfortunately.

    I used to go to the Carrieton Rodeo each year and I’d see them there. So amazing to watch the bond between horse and rider. Each time I see one I’m astounded at their size, their soft velvet muzzles and their sleek warm coats.

    I’m a dog person. I imagine horses to be like really, really big dogs.

    I still want one πŸ™‚

  5. Lovely story,and you made me laugh. I love to laugh!

  6. What a beauty! Enjoyed the story andthe photos.

  7. I love Blackjack – he’s got spunk!

  8. boomiebol says:

    Blackjack (on right) haha couldn’t help but see that.

  9. TheOthers1 says:

    Lol. I’m not a horse person (had a bad fall from one), but I enjoyed reading about this guy.

    • billgncs says:

      yeah, I was slapping leather like crazy trying to hang on, and he just looked back at me with that big calm brown eye and then… hop.

      sorry about your fall.

  10. Pretty horse and it sounds like he’s lots of fun. Never a dull moment. πŸ™‚

  11. globalunison says:

    Hahaha πŸ˜€ Black Jack is so awesome! I really do want to ride it too!!
    He looks stunning in the pictures!!
    Blessings,
    -Naima.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

