born to ride – horse

I married into horses… my kids were born to them….

Grandpa, a true horseman and doubled up on Rosie…

When Megan was three years she said she could ride Rebel herself, and by golly, she could…

Rebel, one winter we think a mountain lion got him

Rosie and Hawkins, absolutely trustworthy…

My grey hair came when it was time to drive…. Rosie and Hawkens

Sometimes the communication between man and beast is magic…

Let’s cowboy up

The moose wander where they will….

Even the cow moose and calf were impressed.

26 Comments on “born to ride – horse”

  1. Gabriella says:

    I enjoyed this post! Thank you for pointing it out. Where in the US do you live?

  2. Wow, how lucky to have grown up with horses and a close family!! Truly a rarity in this day and time.

    • billgncs says:

      yes, in this case my wife’s parent’s legacy has blessed multiple generations.

      I know lots of people like equestrian, but to me horses in the high country can’t be beat.

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Beautiful family…God’s gift 🙂

  4. Awwww…. love the pics, and love the horses! How very blessed…..thank you for sharing these, Bill……
    😉
    Celeste

  5. thoughtbaker says:

    Horses and I do not get along, when it comes to riding; and we both have a mutual understanding of this. They will let me pet them, touch their muzzle, feed them oats or whatever else. But when it comes to riding, no matter the horse, they always try to get rid of me. Buck me off, run me into branches, and generally not listen. Does not matter if I try to be nice, and try my best to work with the beast, he/she will still try to get rid of me. So in return, I make the ride as uncomfortable for them as it is for me. So like when I look eyes with a horse there is always a sense of this… understanding. As long as I remain off their back and on the ground, we can be friends.

    Just a thought that came to mind when you said communication between man and beast is sometimes magical… And it is, just not always in such a nice way =P. At least, not for me.

  6. Awesome reality! You are sooo lucky!

  7. mindfuldiary says:

    Beautiful family you got.

  8. globalunison says:

    This is so beautiful! You are blessed with such a happy family!!
    Stay blessed,
    -Naima.

  9. janet says:

    Wow, we were all a lot younger then! 🙂 Funny how that works.

  10. Great photos, great life experience for your girls. 🙂

    • billgncs says:

      yes, horses, noble, exasperating beasts that they are, are good for the soul.

      I have a good swearing story though about horses and my oldest daughter….

  11. TheOthers1 says:

    I like your photos. Something about the last one makes me chuckle.

  12. boomiebol says:

    Your family is beautiful


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

