check the source or the joke’s on you – YARS

Ranallo had played rugby for Kent State before he moved back to Cleveland to go to law school. He was fired up when we were about to play his old team.

Keith bottom left, me second from left – friends on the same team

The week before the match took me aside and said, “Keith says you suck and he is gonna kick your ass.” Whoa, wasn’t expecting that. I must have mumbled something like “Yeah, right” when Ranallo took my arm and said, “Really, you better be ready.”

Last practice before Saturday’s game Ranallo takes me aside and says, “He doesn’t respect you at all.” Let’s just say I was eager for the match to begin.

Saturday arrives and the ball spins out to me, I side step the first defender when whump, Keith slams into me sending me tumbling into the dirt. I jump to my feet, I am pissed, it is game on. The rest of the match every hit is ferocious with grunts and growls as we slam into one other neither giving an inch. At last the whistle sounds, match over, both of us bruised, bleeding, scratched and sore. Keith and I look grimly at one another and he mutters “That will shut you up.” Me? The light goes on.

“Did Ranallo tell you I said that?” The light goes on for Keith. Let’s get Ranallo.

When we found him he was laughing so hard he was weeping.

The moral of the story, don’t rely on second hand information, it can be a painful mistake.

YARS – yet another rugby story

40 Comments on “check the source or the joke’s on you – YARS”

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    Glad that you could laugh about it and brought you three closer…probably would not work in the current times…

  2. russtowne says:

    Great story and message!
    Russ

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    I laughed with him. That’s a brand of humor I can enjoy.

  4. globalunison says:

    The moral is a *GOLDEN MORAL*!
    So what did you guys do with Ranallo then??
    -Naima.

    PS– I loved the abbreviation ya come up with – YARS!!

  5. jiltaroo says:

    Oh that’s cruel. Great memories! Jen

  6. wow it’s so true! Did you guys take it out on Ranallo?


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

