rocking at the hall …

The company I worked for in Cleveland was purchased about 5 years ago by a company in Chicago. The CIO realized his days and most of our days were numbered so he allocated $60,000 out of the budget and rented the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for a party to celebrate the Cleveland IT team’s accomplishments. It was a bit of a last farewell.

He threw down the gauntlet, wines and appetizers on each floor a local band playing ( and yes it did hasten his exit.) We toured the hall, how cool was Janis Joplin’s little Porsche and man Motown had alot of sequins.

Well, Jan my wife is a great dancer, and me… ( sometimes I pretend I am trying to escape from being trapped inside a paper bag while blindfolded) but the band is playing and no one is dancing. All the senior executives are there, we chat with them for a bit and then I take her out and we are the only two on the dance floor at the rock hall of fame. We dance the first dance, I avoid stumbling or falling, and the second song the dance floor is packed.

We had to leave shortly afterwards, but we had the first dance.

56 Comments on “rocking at the hall …”

  1. reocochran says:

    I am so glad you were brave enough to get up and dance, being the first ones on the dance floor can be intimidating. I love the way you mention Janis, Mo-Town and so glad they had this wonderful celebration with apps on every floor. I can imagine the cost! Wow!

  2. Just remember to dance like no-ones watching 😉

  3. katkasia says:

    I love your description of your dance style! Have you ever seen that Rowan Atkinson sketch on dancing? ‘Some people dance like they’ve got something up their bottom…and others like there is something coming out of their bottom!’ Sorry – that probably seems a bit rude – have to see if I can find the clip.
    Try this one: http://english-online.rs/ocean/2276#!page1

  4. The beauty of dancing is that it doesn’t really matter if you’re good or bad as long as you’re with the right person. Sounds like you had a fun night!

  5. mindfuldiary says:

    hahaaaaa….thanks for making me laugh. Blindfolded in a paperbag LOL. 😀 You’re so funny Bill!

  6. Shannon says:

    Too bad I learned how to dance from you!!! 🙂 The feel your way out of a paper bag blindfolded is my signature move!

  7. It was a great time! And I love that you went out and danced, even though it might not be the thing you do best. 🙂

  8. I love dancing. It’s not so much about doing it perfectly as it is about having fun! I like how your first dance gave others the permission to dance… 🙂

  9. I bet you are really a good dancer! Even if your not your wife has to be so proud of you for trying.

  10. globalunison says:

    Wow! Seems like you had fun with your first dance all alone 😉
    I love to hear from you – these beautiful stories always make me smile!
    With love and blessings to both of you,
    -Naima.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

