romance and life

Did you ever notice how life always intrudes on romance?

How at that moment when you gaze into her eyes to say that line you rehearsed all week, your stomach rumbles and you both start laughing?

I think I was cursed. And I remember the day it started….

We were both about 13, and it was a picnic in the summer. While the other kids ran around playing tag and yelling we sat on a picnic table at opposite ends. Silently we flirted and eyed each other. Secret glances, smiles, it struck me she wants me to kiss her. How eager I was, and how her hair shone. I confidently slid down to her end of the table, put my arm around her and the table tipped over….

67 Comments on “romance and life”

  1. Reblogged this on Alphabet Soup Minuscule and commented:
    Great words to help coax out a smile on this wonderful Monday.

  2. Thanks for the Monday morning smile my friend. Hope you don’t mind if I re-blog this 🙂

  3. Tapish Gupta says:

    Haha.. life is ironic, indeed!

  4. russtowne says:

    LOL! You and I must have studied under the same “romance” teacher.
    Russ

  5. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    This was a feel good laugh out loud post!
    I love it!
    Take Care

    • billgncs says:

      thanks! laughter shared is richest

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        you are very welcome
        I was reading along thinking you were going to propose, then poof the ending was superb!
        its always nice to know someone else romances life
        and in turn life gives you a romance you will remember for all time…

  6. mindfuldiary says:

    hahaa, this is so funny! 😀

  7. The area was getting to small for me, too confining. I was thinking of going to a 6 font but even the fonts were complaining about feeling claustrophobic.

    Back to our conversation. i feel like you but I self-talk about what someone else is doing (i.e. pulling my leg, being serious, or sarcastic) is none of my business, and that if they want me to know they will tell me. I try to go on from there.

    BTW I am not pulling your leg or being sarcastic. This is one of my more somber or sober moments 😉

  8. Great tale! Love the ending.

  9. Kris Kennedy says:

    She evidently knew what she was doing. That must have been quick and proufound all at the same time, literally. Following your trail in the comments was profound as well.

  10. we once had our youngest daughter in a high chair that attached to the table. We were eating breakfast (fortunately) and once the last person got up from the table, the weight of the high chair tipped the table over and all the food went flying on to her. She was not hurt but was drenched in milk, cheerios, toast and butter.

  11. TheOthers1 says:

    Lol. A memory to chuckle at now. 🙂

  12. globalunison says:

    Oh my goodness! It was not your day! (laughing)
    -Naima.

  13. Those darn picnic tables!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

