watch out for bears – horse

My youngest often rides a horse bareback as we explore the mountain trails. It’s a great way to ride but a little hard on the pants, and certainly some horses are more comfortable than others.

What happened to the other horse?

One day she and her mother were out riding when they spied a black bear. Now black bears in the wild are shy unless there are cubs around, but a wild animal is always dangerous and you can never tell what your horse will do. It might shy, it might jump or buck, it might turn tail and run. That’s part of the fun. You hope under your calm presence your horse will trust your wisdom to keep both of you safe. With no saddle to grip, the chances of coming off are much higher.

In Megan’s words, “Mom pointed out the bear, and I dug my hand deep in the horses mane and got a firm grip. If that horse wanted to get me off, I was taking some hair with me.”

some pictures are their own description

22 Comments on “watch out for bears – horse”

  1. Lori Lipsky says:

    My daughter has a horse. She rides and shows him. Every once in a while she goes bareback just for fun. Then, the laundry is no fun for me. You’re right. It’s much harder on the jeans.

  2. russtowne says:

    I enjoy your stories, Bill. And the lines with which you end them!
    Russ

  3. mindfuldiary says:

    🙂 Brave daughter you got. Good story.

  4. Poet Kaylynté says:

    Nice! 🙂

  5. TheOthers1 says:

    Almost feel like there’s a lesson in her words, but maybe I just read too deep. Her hair is fun. 🙂

  6. I like her attitude! Just grab on to the mane! Who’s the dude with the pink hair?

  7. That’s terrible making her ride bareback while that beautiful saddle you displayed in “saddle, no rider” sits on the stand in your house…. I’m calling the ASPCA

  8. mysocalledDutchlife says:

    It’s always great to know you’ve raised sensible, courageous children 🙂


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

