shade trees and ringing bells – yars

I actually heard birds singing, and people were calling me from far away. I couldn’t move, I was waking and my arms and legs didn’t work. Someone was asking me, “Do you know where you are?” I was on a stretcher, strapped in, surrounded by most of my teammates wearing their Cleveland Blue jerseys. I had one on too.

“Do you know where you are?” They asked again in soft, serious tones.

Everybody laughed. “No, I wasn’t on the observation deck of Terminal Tower, the highest skyscraper in Cleveland. Let’s get you to the hospital.” Two men started lifting me into the ambulance.

It was all coming back. This was Traverse City, eight hours from home. There was a rugby tournament, the cherry festival. We slept last night on picnic tables at the ski lodge.

“Do you have insurance?” Insurance, I probably had it through work. I was nineteen, on my own. This was too complicated. I had some money, but that was gas for my way back.

“Wait!” I hollered. “I don’t have insurance, or any money.”

They stopped lifting an put me down. “How about your teammates?”

A Greek chorus of Cleveland Blue responded, “We don’t have money either.”

The driver and his partner stepped off to the side conferred briefly, and quickly loaded me up for a forty yard ambulance ride to the nearest shade tree.

YARS – yet another rugby story

31 Comments on “shade trees and ringing bells – yars”

  1. emjayzed says:

    Ohhhh, it finally clicked that YARS stands for something. I thought he was one of your team mates!!! Lol!

  2. Linda says:

    Now I know why there is a very good reason for living in the UK 🙂

    • billgncs says:

      I once scored a try ( rugby goal ) in the UK on tour.
      The highlight of my career, that and the gigantic roman baths in Richmond park after a match.

      But health care is the US is great if you have insurance, none better. But not so good if you don’t.

      • Linda says:

        I think that’s what my concern always is – at least mostly you get the same level of care regardless in the UK – and it’s pretty good for most people. So, you’ve been to the UK then eh?

        • billgncs says:

          yes, many years ago for rugby tour, to Hove, Brighton, Sussex, then a games in London against The Public School Wanders and Old Askeans.

          Hope to come back, now that the kids are flying the coop, we will be able to travel more.

          France and Normandy last year. We will see about this one.

  3. Haha! That will be the decision soon.

  4. Shannon says:

    Haha. I like your chorus of teammates 🙂

  5. I thought that they did treat everyone. I hear so many varying opinions about health care in the USA. If you don’t have insurance, would you be left bleeding out at a car accident? How does it work? What about people who can’t afford insurance or are unemployed?

  6. TheOthers1 says:

    Man, I know how much an ambulance ride costs so I hope you weren’t charged for that transport to said shade tree.

    Your head was knocked around quite a bit then I see.

    • billgncs says:

      that’s me, scrambled eggs for brains.

      It was a rough sport, not so bad as football, but a person could get dinged up a bit. I had so much anger inside, that it was the perfect outlet.

  7. jiltaroo says:

    What had happened? A concussion I guess. I don’t agree with the whole insurance thing. Every person should be entitled to hospital care!!! Sounds like that could have been serious.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

