weather adventure

How do you know your adventure days are behind you? You call up your daughter in school in Philadelphia with a big checklist of advice for the storm and she tells you “Don’t worry Dad, I’ve got it covered.”

“You do?”

“Yeah, I’ve got drinking water, a flashlight, some supplies and a big pizza”

“Pizza?”

“Yeah, I’ve tested it. Pizza lasts a long time without refrigeration.”

Sigh…..

May you and yours stay safe and dry.

41 Comments on “weather adventure”

  1. Shannon says:

    To Third Plan8…if there are college age girls and pizza the boys will be there whether you are thinking of them or not 🙂

  2. Pizza! Why didn’t I think of that!

  3. I live 45 minutes away from Philadelphia (locals call it Philly) and we did not get hit as hard as they thought we would. Come on Dad, pizza is what all girls survive on in college. I like her ingenuity!! You did a great job in raising such a smart girl!!

  4. Poetry and Musings says:

    Awwww….yes…been there!!!

  5. brudberg says:

    Pizza is excellent. A friend of mine ate one for breakfast after saving a slice in the back pocket of his jeans. A girl would never do that

  6. Sheila says:

    lol – that is funny! Had to read it to my husband.

  7. Must be a really good feeling to know that…everything really is covered in the best way possible! 🙂

  8. You have a very smart daughter!

  9. Smart girl! Was just watching coverage on Sandy this morning. My thoughts and prayers are with all in it’s path.

  10. she didn’t tell you about the B’s….
    booze, beer, and boyz, did she?

    • Thankfully, she doesn’t drink, Randy. But the center of the storm is very close to Philly right now, so we’re definitely praying that she and so many others are safe. Even here in Cleveland, seven hours away, we’re getting pounded with rain and wind and New York City (and other, smaller places) have been devastated. Horrible stuff!

      But as I told Bill, the pizza was a suggestion from a friend in New Jersey (who’s without power now) and I passed it on to Megan. Great excuse to get pizza. 🙂

      • Don’t men to light-hearted about the storm.I hope she is okay. As we all hope everyone there is okay.

        As a Floridian, one who has been through several hurricanes … I tend to be a little less intimidated about the coming of storms but we are so much more prepared and used to the idea and realities of it.

        • Randy, I know you’re not being light-hearted about it. It’s harder to prepare when you’re in a little room on the seventh floor of an eleven-story building with just your school things. Philly hasn’t figured prominently (or at all, from what I’ve heard) on TV, which is a good thing. But I have a s-i-l in Brooklyn, NY and other friends nearby, so I’m praying for all of them (as well as everyone else.) This appears to have been a storm of unusual severity and there are some things a person just can’t prepare for.

    • billgncs says:

      every girl needs he secrets! Right I hope she is dry, dull and dutiful!

  11. Paul says:

    Pizza. The breakfast of champions!

  12. TheOthers1 says:

    Sound logic. I support her choice.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

