i ain’t broke… but….

When I left home at eighteen money was pretty tight. All my savings from high school went to pay rent and my car was the epic beater. I sold it for the princely sum of fifteen dollars, (after putting my foot through the rusted floor one day, I figured a new one was in order.) As crazy as it sounds, those were actually pretty fun times, I had a pretty girl, was going to computer school and playing rugby. The future was too far away to worry about. We just took each day as we found it. We used to say:

I ain’t broke, but I am badly bent.

or

I’m so poor I can’t even pay attention.

May you never break…. and always afford attention

39 Comments on “i ain’t broke… but….”

  1. emjayzed says:

    I’m so going to use those lines!!!

  2. I remember those days of being pretty bent!! Love your sayings!

  3. thats great I can relate to that on many levels…. we don’t say I’m broke around hear we say… ahh we choose to spend this on …BREAD! the diamonds can wait… !

  4. mindfuldiary says:

    Smiling. No better teacher than being broke. I also remember it from my childhood. (during Soviet time). I’ll just say having a little is the best precondition to be really innovative. Things always had multiple purposes. 🙂 Haha. Really like your stories!

  5. TheOthers1 says:

    I like that first saying. Badly bent, yes.

  6. I’ve often been the happiest when I’ve had the least. I wonder if that’s true of most of us…As always, love your stories, they always take me back to my own fond memories. 🙂

  7. I don’t know why you sold the car just because you put your foot through the rusty floor.

    That was the time for me to flatten a few Campbell Soup cans and glue them to the floor and glue a rubber mat down on top of them.

    And voila I got another year or so out it .

  8. what was that you said? 😉

  9. ~Lady Day says:

    Lol. This made me laugh. A totally different way from today’s youth.

  10. boomiebol says:

    Some things happened growing up that left my parents flat out broke… Poor really but that sounds so final I think. Anyhow one day my mom made one of her famous stews and the essence of this particular stew is meats and such but this time there was no money for that…

    She told us excitedly guess what I made and I remember my older brother laughing and saying something like mom this is just water mixed right lol

    We think about those times now and laugh. I hope we never find ourselves in those times again, but they helped shape us.

  11. Clanmother says:

    Well said…I remember those times too!!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

