it’s a girl thing three

When the horn blared the end of the game she hadn’t played a minute, not a single second. Holding hands we left the gym, her eleven year old head was down as we passed the coach on our way out. “I didn’t get to play,” she softly said, afraid someone would hear her.

“Don’t worry honey, I’m sure the coach just got excited and lost track.” She didn’t answer just nodded as we continued down the dark quiet hall.

“Want to know what I think?” Again the silent nod, her french braid bobbing up and down. “I think practice is your games. You need to try as hard at practice as you do in the games. Do every drill as hard as possible, fight for every rebound. Play fierce defense. Every coach can find minutes for a girl who hustles on defense. Improve so that the coach wants you on the court.”

As we were driving home, she asked me if I would help her.

“Sure, we can play one on one when I get home from work each night.”

After that, every night I came home from work, she would waiting, her long blonde hair in pigtails, a pony tail or French braids bouncing about as she dribbled waiting to play.

Some things can’t be bought, they can only be earned.

17 Comments on “it’s a girl thing three”

  1. russtowne says:

    You are a wise man, my friend.

    Russ

  2. Shannon says:

    🙂 Good thing I had such a loving patient dad to teach me the ropes.
    …and I definitely earned my playing time after all of the fouls I got during those practice games!

  3. I hear so many mom’s complain of this very thing. I consider my daughter lucky-that their coach offers equal playing time.

  4. emjayzed says:

    I love your insights 🙂

  5. What a beautiful memory (wiping away a tear) The dad/daughter relationship is so important!

    • billgncs says:

      thanks — it always used to crack me up when before the game, the girls would have their hair braided and put on makeup.

      • well you have to look good out there! 😉 I have known women who will not leave the house unless they’re all done up, even if they’re going out to take garbage to the dump or shovel stalls!

        • billgncs says:

          when I played rugby, we ( the hard core guys ) never shaved before games so we could scratch our opponents with our stubble.

          Of course of me, it was hard to scratch them with peach fuzz…

  6. TheOthers1 says:

    Ah, the lesson here…

  7. love: what a wonderful action word.

    what a great example of it.

    Randy

    PS Janet said though that she often would find you crying in the corner mumbling through the tears about you kept getting beat daily in hoops by a girl .

  8. that’s totally precious! you are a gift to each other.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

