what would you give?

He was the grandson of a warlord but now a man of modest means. She came from the elite of a middle eastern state, her mother an ambassador, her father an industrialist and adviser to the highest officials. They met at school in Europe where despite their love of home and country and promises to return there, they fell in love. Perhaps having gone to school internationally they were citizens of the world, sharing an upbringing like few others.

Her father threatened her. She would be disowned, her inheritance lost. He would refuse to speak her name.

Who would choose to give up everything, sacrificing status to start in a new country with the man she loved? Someone who loved with her whole heart.

I witnessed their wedding. I saw the cost, but I also saw the reward. Over the years we lost touch, but from time to time I remember and think, I have seen a great love.

21 Comments on “what would you give?”

  1. russtowne says:

    Reblogged this on A Grateful Man and commented:
    Isn’t great love truly extrordinarily wonderful? It is as if experiencing a miracle and a thing of great beauty at the same time. Sometimes they are based on great decisions, and sometimes on small decisions made a great number of times.

    Russ

  2. russtowne says:

    Isn’t great love truly extrordinarily wonderful? It is as if experiencing a miracle and a thing of great beauty at the same time. Sometimes they are based on great decisions, and sometimes on small decsions made a great number of times.

    Russ

    • billgncs says:

      Yes, sometimes on an evening they would go to Sam’s club and walk the aisles in wonder at all the stuff.

      We used to kid him about that like crazy, but sometimes we’d join him.

  3. mindfuldiary says:

    This is soo beautiful!

    • billgncs says:

      thanks, I was thinking about it for some time, just waiting for the words to arrange themselves. I’m glad you liked it. When I think of it, I marvel at how brave she was.

  4. It happens far more frequently than we might imagine I believe, unfortunately 🙂

  5. I had a friend like that too, her life was threatened and she was beaten on more than one occasion, she was disowned. I too haven’t see or heard from her in a long time, but the last time I did, she was in another country, and with a man she cared deeply for.

  6. Lovely! I wonder what they are up to now!

  7. Kris Kennedy says:

    Goes with the comment you wrote on my site…very beautiful and wanting for more…

  8. very thought provoking….therefore must ponder this 🙂

  9. yerpirate says:

    Very intriguing…


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

