shannon movies

Once, a friend lent me a whole series of Akira Kurosawa movies like the Seven Samurai. Beautiful, sweeping in scope, subtitled and like so many of his movies, the hero often dies tragically.

We watched them ( my two daughters and I ), and movie after movie ended bitter-sweetly with the hero dying. Finally my oldest daughter declared, “I’m not watching any more of these” as she held back the tears, “These are too sad!”

Since then we call movies with a happy ending “Shannon movies”

19 Comments on “shannon movies”

  1. russtowne says:

    I like the Akira Kurosawa movies too, but in general I’m with Shannon as far as happy endings. I only watch movies with sad endings once. I believe that there is enough sadness and suffering in real life that that movies for me are an entertaining way for me to escape for awhile, so that I’m better able to deal with real life troubles when they occur. To me, it’s like focusing on friends with positive attitudes rather than cynical and negative ones. It’s a choice.

    Russ

    • billgncs says:

      Russ — although I like Sci-Fy movies, there is so much evil in the world that a happy movie lifts me too.

      I fear how some violent/sexual movies are programming young minds for violence.

  2. Clanmother says:

    I like Shannon movies!

  3. This is somewhat unrelated (but that is who I am), but I did relate to crying at a movie, as my wife and i watched “Mr. Holland’s Opus” tonight and both of us sobbed because the protagonist was fired after 30 years as a teacher, felt his career was wasted, only to have an auditorium of adult students show up in testimony of love and respect for him, declaring that his time was not wasted but that they were the notes and movements and music of his life and the lives he helped create.

    The tears flowed. Many off my heroes make me laugh and cry and care…
    Randy

    • billgncs says:

      sometimes I wish I could cry. Maybe someday I will.

        • billgncs says:

          however tonight my daughter and I are going to see Le Mis at the movies – maybe that will do it!

          • Now I cry on the way to musicals, I stamp my feet, pout and I am bored to tears. I love Cole Porter but hated Chicago, Hair Spray, Grease, Jesus Christ Superstar, Cats, and so on. I feel trapped in a musical because it attempts to entertain rather than relate, show rather than tell, glitter rather than slow glow.

            Just me. I like choral music, concertos but dislike opera – dance can be tolerable but ballet is mostly boring to me.

            But enjoy – and enjoy your time with your daughter, That is special and worth shedding tears of gratitude over.

    • billgncs says:

      we had theatre tickets for many years in Cleveland, but it was Sunday afternoon when the Browns ( football ) team played. I used to drive down at about 8 miles per hour arriving just in time. Poor Jan hates to be late or even just on time. She more than once stamped her foot.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

