take february off

My dad learned to drink in World War II. He left a young boy and in the combat of Germany and the Pacific Islands he became a man.

After the war he taught, and while I don’t recall him drinking on school nights, when he drank, he drank hard. Each year he would give up the sauce for a month, just to prove he could do it. It was always February, the shortest month.

May you get through the hard times as lightly as possible. Sometimes that’s were change starts.

28 Comments on “take february off”

  1. […] I choose cured, although the blood test is accurate, if cancer still exists it is very very small. Cancer casts a harsh glare, there is no sense cowering before it. That said, I am going to take some of my dad’s advice and take February off […]

  2. russtowne says:

    Your father showed wisdom both in his choice to cut booze out for a month per year and for picking the shortest month. I’ll bet he was wise in plenty of other ways too.

    Russ

  3. Shannon says:

    Ha! I never knew that πŸ™‚ That’s pretty funny. …my girlfriends still are impressed that I gave up cheese for lent one time.

  4. There is a certain beauty In February that I had never seen until now. Thanks for opening my eyes a little today.

  5. mindfuldiary says:

    I hope this and all future February will be a good ones for you Bill!

  6. I hope Feb. is not a bad month for you.

  7. Clanmother says:

    A wonderful blessing…”lightly as possible.”

  8. I used to have a friend that did the same with smoking!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

