it’s a beautiful day for a ride – cycling

21 degrees F, with a dusting of snow and blue sky and sun. The perfect day to ride.

the great plains of chicagoland

the great plains of chicagoland

Just a mile from my house…

winter's wheel

winter’s wheel

where the muskrat tribe slumber the cold away…

muskrat lodge in the solitude of winter

muskrat lodge in the solitude of winter

May every day be a great day.

40 Comments on “it’s a beautiful day for a ride – cycling”

  1. emjayzed says:

    How beautiful! The snow fascinates me – so pretty as it dusts all it lands on in that icing sugar kind of way.

    • billgncs says:

      I love the snow. But…. it can make you miserable. The key is to play in it, make snow angels, snow men, ski.

      A fresh snowfall hides all the problems in the whole world.

  2. sixpuns says:

    Biking in winter? Snow problem!

  3. Shannon says:

    Brrrr. Perfect day to ride with a balaklava!

  4. Brrrr, but I love the pics!

  5. Eric says:

    Thanks for starting my day with a chuckle, Bill! You are quite the adventurer. Reminds me of doing donuts in the snow when I was a kid! πŸ˜€

  6. I am a winter bicyclist as well, but we change to studded tires. If we are really lucky we might use the lakes as bicycle paths. πŸ™‚

  7. Clanmother says:

    Brings back memories. Vancouver doesn’t have “dustings” of snow. When we do have snow, it is wet, wet, wet. I end up wearing rubber boots with thick stockings. What a wonderful day you had! Thanks for letting me tag along…

  8. Bill what a wonderful post!! Glad you enjoyed your ride and took advantage of the beautiful sites along the way. God’s gifts are to be shared glad you shared this one!! Praying for you πŸ™‚

  9. nice! it was a great day here too, pics tomorrow πŸ™‚

  10. TheOthers1 says:

    I don’t think biking at that temp. I think hot tea and warm blankets, but we enjoy things in different ways. Glad you enjoyed yourself.

  11. deanabo says:

    Terrific pictures!

  12. You need some liquid chain for your tires! Glad you enjoyed your ride Bill. πŸ™‚


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

