root beer secret pleasures

One of my secret pleasures is to find regional root beers and taste them. The other night Jan and I stopped into World of Beer in Naperville and discovered….

root-beer

Of course the Nitro Stout ( on left ) always looks and tastes good, but the goblet contains “Not Your Father’s Root Beer” 10% alcohol made by Small Town Brewery in Illinois. Rich and smooth with just the right kick. Next time we are bringing some vanilla ice cream to make floats the kick you back.

Once a friend from Germany asked me for a taste of root beer. “Acch… tastes like medicine” he said. I replied, that’s cause it’s good for you. May your root beer always be in a frosted mug.

53 Comments on “root beer secret pleasures”

  1. cherylmoore says:

    That looks soooooo goood! πŸ˜€

  2. Bodhirose says:

    We drank those Frostys as kids too and root beer floats. Remember sarsparilla…sometimes made into a type of root beer way back when?

  3. πŸ™‚ Personally, I don’t like root beer. Once in one of my classes, we all made root beer floats. I tried root beer for the first time that day. Yuck, I just ate the icecream and tossed the root beer.

  4. denmother says:

    Is it bad that I looked at the picture and thought “I’d sure love a Guinness right now?”
    You make root beer look that good.
    Denmother

  5. is that like sarsaparilla? or ginger beer?

    • billgncs says:

      I’ve never had sarsaparilla – but I think it is like that.

      Now I have another thing to try. It is very sweet… now the words leave me? I shall have to go taste it and write it down, or at least remember it better.

  6. I’ve never heard of alcoholic root beer before, although it sounds intriguing. I’d love to go around trying local types of root beer.

  7. I do love some root beer, but not as much as I love birch beer!

  8. mindfuldiary says:

    Missed your posts. Glad you’re better and back! Does the quantity of foam have anything to do with quality? πŸ™‚ I noticed because that’s my favorite part.

  9. Eric says:

    Yep, I could hang out there, Bill! πŸ˜‰

  10. I remember Root Beer floats! Yummy. Years ago I did a TV ad (costumes) for a brand of Root Beer. When we wrapped, everyone could take as much Root Beer as they wanted. I took several flats of Root Beer home with me, and drank most of it in a couple of weeks. I haven’t had a Root Beer since!

  11. Lori Lipsky says:

    Regional root beers. Who knew?
    I used to be a carhop for A&W back in the day.
    Thanks for sharing this delight with the rest of us!

  12. I loved root beer as a kid, you know especially from A&W! Have missed your posts Bill. How are things?

  13. Clanmother says:

    What fun! My grandmother used to make root beer. It never really turned out that well, but we all said it tastes delicious! We loved her!!!

  14. Grant says:

    One of my all time favorite drinks! However, Barq’s Diet Root Beer is one of the worst drinks I’ve ever had…

  15. what’s this i hear?? cheating on chocolate ice cream??

  16. Sounds delicious. You have me thirsting for a rootbeer.

    • billgncs says:

      thanks — one of my childhood favorites was “frosty’s” in a bottle. We used to go to a motel near our house on our bikes and for 10 cents we could get an 8 oz bottle. Ahh…. I can still recall how cold the bottle was in our hand….

  17. boomiebol says:

    I don’t think i ever had a root beer. Naperville sounds like it has a lot of nice places πŸ™‚


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

