musings on poetry and elbows

I have a friend who I sometimes ask to preview my poetry for her opinion.
Once I sent her a new poem which I viewed as the epitome of romance and passion.

Her emailed response, “Trite”.

Ouch, aside from the fact I had to look up the word.

“What about the stanza about breasts?” I asked.

This time, “Breasts are already taken, find another part.”

I had to laugh, but she was right. Poetry is more about original use of language. Instead of using cliche, create images worthy of becoming them. Some things have been spoken of enough.

The other night I read two poems new poems to my wife. Afterwards, I understood that in reading poetry aloud to another, it’s the honesty of the verse that creates a closeness like few other things. How I enjoy reading aloud.

May you discover your elbow of love.

26 Comments on “musings on poetry and elbows”

  1. Both elbows on the table and pen in hand.

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    Just makes one intrigued about that poem you sent to your friend to review..

  3. Bodhirose says:

    Smart friend you have there. Yes, breasts have been overdone…what more could one say? Ha! On to elbows…

  4. Shannon says:

    One of my favorite, favorite memories is of you and mom reading a loud to us when we were little! I will definitly do this for my kids one day!

  5. haha I had to use the dictionary as well. 🙂

    • billgncs says:

      It’s tough to write good love poetry. Mostly because the act of being in love turns off your brain 🙂

      two of my favorites “Break of Day” by John Donne, or “To my dear and loving husband” by Anne Bradstreet — could people who lived so long ago have known true feelings?

  6. Yes, listening to poetry being read…especially by the person who has written it, is beautiful…and so much more personal.

  7. Eric says:

    I agree with every word you say, Bill. But I write and post my poetry just as I partake of the privy. When it comes to me, it gets posted, despite the fact that a piece of toilet paper may be stuck to my shoe all day long without me taking note… 😀 Eric

  8. Eric Alagan says:

    Pretty much everything has been taken and said and written and forgotten – time to start again, I reckon.

    Peace, Eric

  9. Reading poetry out loud is how we hear our rhythm flow.

  10. Clanmother says:

    Poetry must be heard. To me, the voice carries the story just as much as the words themselves…

  11. but it is a pleasure to be shared with pleasure

  12. I love being read to and reading out loud!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

