who has your back

Today is my birthday, well past halfway to one hundred.

I thought I would share a piece of advice my father once gave me.

Dad was a sailor in World War II, and in San Francisco at that time Sailors and Army soldiers often had differences of opinion over anything, but especially where women and alcohol were involved. One night Dad and a friend chanced to find themselves in a bar full of sailors and were chatting with a couple gals when a bunch of soldiers barged in, pushed in front of Dad and his friend and asked the girls if they could buy them a drink. Dad’s friend immediately hauled off and decked the soldier and an brouhaha erupted. The whole place became a punch palace. Chairs were smashed over heads, tables overturned, beer bottles flying.

Dad and his friend crawled under a table, made their way to a wall and then slowly inched out of the bar keeping their backs against the wall so no one could sucker punch them. Near the exit a squad of MP’s rushed up. “Sailors, what’s going on in there?” Then rushed past to make arrests of the trouble makers.

The moral: Nobody has your back like the wall

44 Comments on “who has your back”

  1. LOL!! Happy Birthday!! May this year be your best and most blessed so far!
    http://www.anythingforhorseandrider.com

  2. Amen, Brother! I learned that early on as a social worker… πŸ™‚

  3. Lyn says:

    “Brouhaha” I love that word. Your Dad and his friend were real smart – they git while the gittin’ was good πŸ™‚ Thanks for dropping by and liking my post, “Thunder”

  4. Shannon says:

    Haha. Great advice!

  5. Bodhirose says:

    As I was scrolling down, I passed that creepy video…my curiosity got the better of me…that guy makes me nervous too! Well anyway, belated birthday greetings, Bill…I hope you had a sweet day. And I loved your story…I’m going to remember your Dad’s advice… πŸ™‚

  6. mindfuldiary says:

    Still laughing… Happy (delayed) birthday wishes Bill! πŸ™‚

  7. Lori Lipsky says:

    Happy birthday, Bill!! Loved your dad’s story.

  8. rgayer55 says:

    So, having your back against the wall is not always a bad thing. Happy Birthday Bill. I’m looking at 50 in the rear view mirror too.

  9. bert0001 says:

    … nice story … happy birthday !!!

  10. Happy B-day, Bill.

    Backs to the wall,
    Balls and all.

    And Janet’s got your back
    in every brawl.

  11. Clanmother says:

    Sorry – I meant Happy Birthday to you!! And a thank you to your Dad for a great story/adventure….

  12. Clanmother says:

    Happy Birthday to your Dad! It seem that he likes adventures, too!!!

    β€œSorry! I don’t want any adventures, thank you. Not Today. Good morning! But please come to tea -any time you like! Why not tomorrow? Good bye!”
    ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

  13. πŸ˜† Great story. Happy birthday and may you see that 100 and many more if you choose.

  14. Happy Birthday!

    Your Dad had a good point! Just for the record i like the word brouhaha! lol

  15. Eric Alagan says:

    Happy Birthday – like wine, we get better with age πŸ™‚

    So, that’s how they won the Pacific War – piss each other off so much, that the blokes took it out on the Japs!

  16. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

    And lol funny story πŸ˜€

  17. Cara Thereon says:

    LOL. So backs to it then? Happy birthday to you! You’re a gem. πŸ™‚

  18. Happy, happy Birthday Bill. I hope you get to enjoy this day with the people you love and here’s a little greeting from me…he says it so much better than I ever could…enjoy…

  19. boomiebol says:

    Now I know why I am a fan of yours :). A very blessed and happy birthday to you. Glass raised for a wonderful prosperous year. God bless you now and always . Hope you are having a fun day

  20. Very nice story, and happy birthday :-€

  21. Well, well (or should I say Wall, Wall!)! That’s quite the story and advice! Happy Birthday, Bill! – Sending birthday love – Resa

    • billgncs says:

      Thanks Resa, Right back at you. You know I watched some highlights of the Oscars and I kept waiting to see a dress better than your art gowns, and I never did!

  22. I’ve got your back and I’m much better than a wall! πŸ™‚

    janet

  23. arjun bagga says:

    I’ll remember this story. Ha Ha! Seriously, I will.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

