gabe

This is Gabe. He’s not mine, but some friends love him dearly. Gabe checked in a bit early at two point two pounds to be exact. But he’s fighting, and was even able to cry the other day.

hanging tough at four days old

hanging tough at four days old

Sometimes when I get down about mergers or hassles I see a Gabe whose every cell demands life, fights for life, and the medical miracles it has taken to keep him here. My problems aren’t really so big after all.

Come on Gabe, I’m pulling for you. I believe in you.

26 Comments on “gabe”

  1. […] Not sure if you remember Gabe ( here’s the link to his arrival as a preemie ) […]

  2. It is all in your perspective.
    I am rooting for Gabe and for all those who believe in miracles.
    Please Keep me posted about Gabe’s progress.

  3. Shannon says:

    You are so wise and so good at putting things into perspective…he’s so tiny. I’m rooting for him! I always know there are people rooting for me and I hope you feel the same way!

  4. mindfuldiary says:

    He is a tiny fighter! Amazing, how so called problems disappear, seeing him.

  5. beautiful child…may he receive all the blessings that we might ask for ourselves and those we love – and more so.

    yes, our worries shrink in comparison – and are never so large. Randy

  6. Lauren says:

    I was in a similar situation when I was born, two months early and 3 pounds. I’ve said a prayer for the family. Be strong. The baby will make it and be perfectly healthy and highly functioning!

    My thoughts are with them.

    — Lauren
    http://www.thelvds.com

  7. Go for it, Gabe! In prayer…Jenny

  8. bert0001 says:

    Come on Gabe, you can do it …

  9. crazybunny66 says:

    I´ll keep my fingers crossed for him, I hope he´s going to be ok!!

  10. our youngest g-son was 2 lbs 1 oz now he will be seven in a few short weeks his Pap calls him ‘Tank’ as he is so robust now. Prayers fro Gabe with the name of the Arch angel how can he be anything but strong and grow to fullfill his destiny.
    and Bill thank you for putting life into perspective for me with this I really needed it. God bless hope you are doing well health wise my friend,:)

  11. Our oldest was was born 34 years ago and he only weighed 3 pounds, nine ounces at birth — at that time the chances of survival were almost zero. However, he managed to pull through and in spite of numerous difficulties he made. He almost finished with college and will have his degree in graphic design very shortly. A newborn child the size of Gabe is indeed small, but anymore many children his size survive and thrive. He and his family will be in our prayers.

  12. Whimsy Mimsy says:

    My nephew was born at 1 lb 2 oz. Today he is a small but happy, healthy, bright 3 yr old. The miracles that happen can’t be denied. 🙂 Blessings to Gabe and his family.

  13. Yes come on Gabe! I hope you are okay?

  14. Jamie Dedes says:

    Oh, it tugs at the heart. In prayer …

  15. C’mon Gabe, I’m pulling for you too! Thanks for reminding me about perspective Bill.
    xo

  16. Clanmother says:

    My prayers are with Gabe!!! He is beautiful….

  17. Go Gabe!!!!! Oh Bill, please let me know what happens!

    • billgncs says:

      Hi Resa — he made it one week 25% chance he wouldn’t, and gained 50 grams, almost 2 ounces 🙂

      next week they will lay him on the parents chest so he can hear the heartbeat and feel the touch, and hopefully he will be out of the hospital by the end of June.

      thanks for asking

  18. And I’m praying for you!

    janet


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

