caravan of dreams

We hit the big apple for a day for ( country mouse, me ) to visit my sister ( city mouse ). We stopped at the lovely Rubin museum, spent time in the park and caught a little Off Broadway show called Mr. Irresistible. The sun was shining, the city bustling with all sorts of characters and families with strollers, the museum delightful, the show hilarious and then we had dinner.

It was a little place in the East Village, Caravan of Dreams, which my sister tells me was vegan before it became fashionable. A single string player serenaded us. We shared our courses and I had a glass of beet, carrot, celerey, lemon, greens juice. It was red like wine, but I hope much more healthy.

Warmed olives, the taste seemed to burst out of them.

warmed olives

warmed olives

Almond hummus, with dehydrated ( not cooked 🙂 ) chips and veggies. It was all very good, but this was excellent.

Almond Hummus

Almond Hummus

A Thai salad with avocado, alot of avocado.

Avacado Thai Salad

Avacado Thai Salad

And the main course…. in New York, pasta of course.

gluten free pasta with lots of veggies...

gluten free pasta with lots of veggies…

Then it was a taxi ride back to the train to Philly past the Madison Square gardens and the bright lights.

12 Comments on “caravan of dreams”

  1. Clanmother says:

    This is why more and more people are becoming vegetarian. What an adventure you are on….

  2. I love how you enjoy tasting different things like food, root beer, wine and beer. I’m not sure I have met anyone else who enjoys this sense as much as you do!

  3. vb holmes says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day and enjoyed the photographs.

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    I just had lunch and you made me hungry again Bill.

    Enjoy, Eric

  5. Bumba says:

    Remember me to Herald Square.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

