happy

I heard an old adage on the radio today.  A famous football player said  “You are never happier than your saddest child.”

I had never considered it, but for me it’s true.  May your lives be filled with joy.

25 Comments on “happy”

  1. Smiles are contagious, its true that one’s happiness is definitely influenced by the ones they love or care about. I find it very true that you can feel someone’s sadness, and it can be dampening.

  2. Interesting quote – And I suspect a lot of people feel that way or believe it to be true.
    .
    Although my children’s lives affect me, as as does the lives of all the people I care about, I have come to a point in life in which I, after feeling my own feelings, try to process what it is, if anything, that I can do to help someone else in a way that is reasonable and realistic.

    While I continue to care, It is ultimately their lives that they have to live and work through, as I have in my own life – and continue to do. I seek my own happiness which is not dependent on my children’s.

    Although if one of my children should suffer horribly, or God forbid die, there is no doubt in my mind that I would be devastated. and deeply affected. There can be noting worse, I think, than losing a child or a significant other.

    Randy

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Very true, very true.

    Peace, Eric

  4. Kristi says:

    Oh, this one is so true! Thanks.

  5. We want so much for our kids. I never really thought about it, but yes, that would be true.

  6. Jamie Dedes says:

    Interesting. It’s true, of course, but never heard it said. Thanks for sharing it.

  7. Clanmother says:

    It is for me too!! If my son is sad, I’m sad. And when he is happy, life is the absolute best.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

