what you gonna do… YARS

He cast a big shadow on the rugby pitch, but then he was a large man. He used to joke that while we were sleeping, he was working out. It was true, the weight machines glowed red hot when he finished his workouts. On the field, TK would urge me to hold my man up so his relentless pursuit could smash into us and rip the ball loose. My advantage? I always knew the chiseled six-foot-two two-hundred-twenty pound freight train was coming.

He was a leader, those who do amazing feats time and time again through prowess and will often are. His wit and his laughter could fill a room and lift everyone’s mood. The rugby life was full of the bar after practice and parties following games. One gal, Sarah girlfriend of another teammate took every chance to be around TK. We could see the want in her.

I asked him what he was going to do about Sarah.

“Nothing,” he said. “Nobody is ever going to say I did that to a friend.”

He was as good as his word.

Rugby ended, as those things do, and we drifted apart. Still from time to time I recall that one man can teach a lesson through his actions.

Our choices have consequences, and they define us.

YARS – yet another rugby story

28 Comments on “what you gonna do… YARS”

  1. nightlake says:

    Sounds like a really good friend

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    TK sounds like an amazing guy – but I can’t say the same for Sarah. Hope I didn’t step on any toes with this opinion.

    Peace, Eric

  3. Clanmother says:

    I love your YARS!

  4. Ese' s Voice says:

    A good friend, wonderful sport and lovely memories.

  5. Gotta have respect for that guy!

  6. Ahh good friends like that are rare… 🙂

  7. Cara Thereon says:

    Something to remember. Do you story up these life lessons so you can tell them to others? They’re good.

  8. Chatty Owl says:

    I dont understand rugby.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

