cooper’s hawk

I rode my mountain bike around Springbrook Park. It’s a prairie oasis in the encroaching Chicagoland creep. From my house it’s just ten miles with six following the crushed gravel path through the natural prairie. Nearby earth movers prepare a Walmart, sigh, but the park will remain – the past rubbing and chaffing against the present and future.

As I cruised the path, a Cooper’s Hawk bust from the ground cover taking wing with six red winged blackbirds pursuing. It was a big bird, many times the size of the smaller more agile birds driving it away. If only power mattered, why did it flee? He fled because the hawk is most dangerous when he strikes from high unseen.

The hawk’s power is in stealth – remaining unseen. Like many bad things, vigilance thwarts them. So too with us. A philosopher once said, “The unexamined life is not worth living.” Maybe the unobserved life is dangerous too.

May you understand danger and be vigilant.

24 Comments on “cooper’s hawk”

  1. angela says:

    one can never observe too much(internal or external) …on my bike to work these last two days, i pass a man-made pond fringed with mcmansions and above circles 7-10 crows and turkey vultures…I wonder if anyone looks, and if yes, ponders what has died.

  2. twoscamps says:

    Not paying attention can be detrimental in a lot of different ways. Yes, even dangerous.

  3. susank456 says:

    So very true. Everyone needs to be aware of their surroundings and pay attention better.

  4. Chatty Owl says:

    What a beautiful comparison. May you be vigilant too.

  5. I hear what you’re saying…but I think all life has value. I have wondered why larger birds flee smaller ones and now I know! Hope you enjoyed your ride. 🙂

    • billgncs says:

      those little birds were pissed, and he was beating feet to get away 🙂

      • I’ve watched little birds the size of swallows gang up on large crows and hawks…it’s weird to watch. I’ve never seen these little birds fly as high as hawks can fly though… I wonder if that’s a hawk’s best bet?

        • billgncs says:

          I saw a hawk hit a crow once. The crow exploded with black feathers like a cloud. Then, interestingly the other crows stayed nearby calling for their fallen comrade.

          It was very insightful.

          I had no pity though.

  6. Last year was the first time I ever saw a Cooper’s Hawk fleeing from Red Wing Blackbirds, and as much as I hate the blackbirds I was cheering them on. Cooper’s Hawks like to hang around my bird feeders and eat the little birds I try to feed!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

