the scent of beauty

I rode again around the Springbrook Prairie path. Each day it differs in a hundred ways. Around one corner I slowed, the scent of flowers tempting me to stop and reminisce. It smelled so pure, innocent with just a hint of honey. There were no trees about, and I scanned the grass and weeds nearby. It was clover, sweet clover, the scent of the perfume of the prettiest girl in school when we were young.

29 Comments on “the scent of beauty”

  1. This one particularly appealed to me.

  2. I have yet to experience that: memory recall through scent, but it sounds like a very sweet experience

  3. Chatty Owl says:

    What a lovely memory… Do you still remember that girl often? I wish someone was reminded of me by some accident!

  4. Shannon says:

    No trees/no hills in prarie land!

  5. Clanmother says:

    Have you ever noticed that we remember everything when we were young with vivid clarity? Maybe it is because our minds are more fluid and more curious. Great post….

  6. Eric Alagan says:

    Ah, yes – brought back memories of the sweet scent of my first crush πŸ™‚

    Thanks Bill.

    Cheers,
    Eric

  7. susank456 says:

    Such a beautiful piece. Reminds me of my childhood.

  8. I love the smell of clover and the taste!

  9. Rhonda L. Brockmeyer says:

    Oh…love that smell. It is a smell of childhood for sure.

  10. jiltaroo says:

    I can almost smell it Bill. Delicious! I have missed your lovely pieces of you. Jen


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

