cheap and good – food

One more day with my daughter, then she’s off to work and it’s just me, veggies and the juicer…

We started the morning with a sixteen mile mountain bike ride. We headed around Springbrook park, then detoured up and back around. Eighty three degrees with a breeze is perfect, and as we rode, the swallows and finches darted about, riding the winds as we coasted on our bicycles. After the ride, it was time for some food – and our favorite Middle-Eastern place is called Naf-Naf. I think it means “belly-belly”. It is a family run fast-food store with fresh fluffy steaming pita bread. If you are a Sci-Fi fan and remember back to “The Fuzzy Papers” -by H. Beam Piper, you’ll recall that the food needed to keep the cute, cuddly extra-terrestrials ( e-woks before there were e-woks ) alive was labeled “Estefee.” Well, that’s a long diversion to say Naf Naf pita is “estafee”, or very good to we humanoids.

Once again we ate outside, this time with our fast food containers.

fluffy warm pita, sirloin tip kebab, home made chips, hummus, and chicken schwarma... yum

fluffy warm pita, sirloin tip kebab, home made chips, hummus, and chicken schwarma… yum

Next to us, a lady with two exquisite boxer dogs made them mind their manners while we savored the tastes. A bite of pita and hummus, a bite of kebob, a bite of salty fresh fried potato chips, repeat to double the pleasure. I did try the Israeli salad which had a bit too much cilantro for me so I left most of that untouched. For dessert ( always a desert with the extra s ) a final bit of sweet baklava.

bacalava

I normally get their lentil soup and pita with hummus ( my guilty conscience speaking ), but this was a good day to stray from my diet. With all those carbs, the long ride in the sunshine, it was back to the house for a nap, then back to work and the regular schedule.

41 Comments on “cheap and good – food”

  1. Shannon says:

    ESTEFEE. That book has some of the most humorous lines I have ever read! 🙂

  2. Chatty Owl says:

    You make me hungry!

  3. Kristi says:

    Sounds like you really enjoyed yourselves. The food looks delicious! Nothing better than some quality time together with someone you love and food.

    • billgncs says:

      yes, I always have fun when the girls are around.

      how are you ? you doing OK ?

      • Kristi says:

        fun is always a good thing and good food is a nice extra bonus. your food photos always make me hungry. thanks for asking. I’m ok, could be better, got into some minor trouble with my health (not to sound like 90 year old 😀 ) and been trying to figure some things out. In the mean time I’m just trying to enjoy life. how are you Bill? I have some catching up to do on your blog. Food always catches my attention before anything else…of course 😉

  4. There’s nothing as nice as homemade and warm pita bread – and if it’s fluffy – what more could a person ask?

  5. safia says:

    I just had to comment because it all looks so familiar to me. The majority of restaurants doing this kind of food here are Lebanese, but all Arabs and others in the Middle East share these recipes. Each country seems to claim one item or another as their particular ‘speciality’ but of course, it’s just a sign of their proximity that the dishes you are enjoying there are common in a fairly wide geographical area. And then people travel and take their traditions and recipes with them. I make my own hummus – a chunkier version of the one pictured, but I’ve never attempted to make Baclava, though I love it and can buy it fresh locally here in the UAE. I can’t remember the name of the book, but it may have Jerusalem in the title … the authors are from that city – one a Jew, the other a Muslim – they are friends and share their love of food and their recipes with their readers, whilst doing their bit for inter-community relationships. What brings us together is more worthy than what separates us! Hope someone can help with the book title.

    • billgncs says:

      thanks for your nice comment — food can transcend borders and cultures can it not ? We all have that need in common.

      We had a Lebanese restaurant near us in Cleveland, and it was one of our favorite places to eat, run by a family. I always to eat at family places rather than chains.

      what is your favorite thing to make ?

      • safia says:

        My speciality is soup. I’m Irish, so one-pot cooking always appeals 🙂 Since moving here I’ve started making lentil soup and pumpkin soup fairly regularly, but days are too hot now and we tend to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen. Fish grilled outside with rice and salad is our most popular choice at the moment. We just buy whatever looks good at our local fish market – and they’re always fresh that morning, so you can’t go wrong really.

  6. you have crazy awesome food adventures!

  7. Great, now you made me hungry again.

    • billgncs says:

      glad to 🙂 that place is a good spot.

      I always wonder what Jesus would have eaten — how about a post on that ? is it much like what kosher Jews eat now ?

  8. Looks and sounds delish! I had left-over chicken soup but today I made homemade flax biscuits to go with it!

    You are a lucky and/or smart man to have such great relationships with your daughters!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

