why snowden matters – food

I was going to go political, and wax upon how wrong it is when the head of a government agency lies to congress and doesn’t lose his job, and has built a spying apparatus to uncover every secret. Think it has oversight? How did one admin get all those documents and cover his tracks so they still don’t know what he took ?

I might write about what life under a government that has a rogue agency and president that can blackmail any politician or prime minister might be like. I guess people get the government they deserve and accept.

Traitor or hero, Snowden warned us how far beyond the law our government has traveled.

But instead, I think I will write about a snack we just shared.

Baby buche, market fresh carrots, grapes, medjoul dates

Baby buche, market fresh carrots, grapes, medjool dates

Whole wheat crackers from Trader Joe’s, baby buche cheese from Mackenzie Creamery in Cleveland, Elk sausage – delicate and light from the Shaker market, grapes, almonds and fresh yellow carrots from the market. Split a Guinness, a bite of cheese and cracker – a nibble of sausage. A carrot and a grape and repeat. Of course save the dates for last.

31 Comments on “why snowden matters – food”

  1. Sandra says:

    Now that’s what I call healthy eating…:-D

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    oh I like the snack…
    and Erics comment…yes food for though
    Take Care…
    )0(

  3. Shannon says:

    Hahaha. This really made me smile. If you think about this stuff too much you’ll just be super frustrated. Better to eat a snack! 🙂

  4. The whole Snowden thing is terribly unsettling. I’m the opposite of you, Bill. When I am stressed out about something, I can’t eat. However, I can still drink a glass of wine. “LOL” _Resa xo

  5. Clanmother says:

    Sharing food with family and friends give profound meaning to our existence. It gives hope…
    You always give me something to think about!! 🙂

  6. It is very disappointing when I hear that a government member or politician has betrayed the trust of the people, lied or showcased their corruption. It makes me lose faith in democracy. That is why I am very happy you also decided to write about your snack. It looks delicious.

  7. political rants get me hungry, too!

  8. susank456 says:

    It is a tragedy that the government officials can circumvent the law all in the name of terrorism. But at least you have good food to balance the inequities of the government.

  9. Eric Alagan says:

    Food for thought, Bill 🙂

    • billgncs says:

      thanks Eric – it is inevitable that it happen the way technology works, but the US constitution provides oversight through warrants in the judicial system. Imagine you knew everyone who dissented, and all they and their families dirty secrets. Maybe the world would be better, but maybe someone would use it to grab power. ( I think I hear the brothers grim snoring so I’d better get off my soap box )

      • Eric Alagan says:

        Out of respect, I don’t normally comment on the politics of another country. But all you say applies to almost all countries, Bill.

        I’ve always said – the mode of governance and the names of institutions might change but there will always be pharaoh and always be slaves. Make no mistake about which group we fall in.

        All good wishes,
        Eric

        P/s: Never mind the Brothers Grinn 🙂

  10. Cara Thereon says:

    I want to go out to dinner with you so badly. Your posts always make my mouth water ( and there’s always a fun story behind it).

  11. Ok. One of my favourite things about the USA is….Trader Joes!!! Of all the American companies that have set up house here in Canada, why can’t we have Trader Joes??? You can have Walmart back. You can take Target back, ok I want to keep Starbucks but please, please, please send us Trader Joes! Please?


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

