on being fragile – yars

I rescued a woman the other day. She wandered pushing her bicycle on the path where others jogged and pedaled robustly by. She was sure she would be all-right when I asked, just a bit of nausea and the wind was blowing so hard. There was a breeze I agreed, and walked my bike along the path with her- just until she felt better.

I could stop someone – call 911, but she insisted was just a bit dizzy, nothing serious. I understand about ER’s – how about I call your doctor. She had a doctor, she just couldn’t recall his name. She was sure her house was nearby – somehow the street name was just beyond reach. We got her home, and she let me call 911 and watch the fire-truck roll up lights flashing with the ambulance right behind. As I rode my bike home in those last rays of sun that are harbingers of darkness I though of how fragile we are.

I thought of rugby as I pedaled through the dusk. Only teammates can hide your weakness. When you’ve hit your opposite time and time again until it hurts you just to drive your shoulder into him and in spite of it he runs through you – you depend upon teammates to bring him down. Or when you’re vulnerable, defenseless waiting for the high kick to settle into your arms as two or three tacklers charge down upon you, the first hit you take, or the fifth or sixth. Eventually, without a teammate to cover or support the eyes will wander, the arms flinch just before the blow strikes, leaving the ball bouncing freely, possession lost. Pushed to our limits, we break.

Sometimes I think it would be good to be a machine.

YARS – yet another rugby story

27 Comments on “on being fragile – yars”

  1. interesting how you likened what you did to a game of rugby.
    BTW – I read your rugby stories, and it is so alien to me, I know so little about the game, being a New York and south Florida boy. No one I know ever played it. Soccer was little played as I grew up – though I know it’s become popular, at least down here in So. Fl.

    We all depend on everyone, ultimately, don’t we? Nobody can really pull themselves up by their own bootstraps, when you really think about it.

    Randy

    • billgncs says:

      Thanks Randy – I am glad you like them. It was a rugged, hard, fun place – where honor mattered – if only for eighty minutes.

      I agree, everyone has had a boost somewhere. I suppose some keep climbing, and some decide never to try.

      So many people have helped me.

  2. twoscamps says:

    You were kind and did a good thing. Forget about being a machine! πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for opening a tenderness in me with this.

  4. Ese' s Voice says:

    Your wonderful post made me think about how fragile and strong we are, simultaneously. And who are those people with whom we…allow ourselves to be fragile. And isn’t it…a sign of strenght, a real inner strenght to allow oneself to be…fragile now and then…and somebody else to see it? I am sure that as many people there are, as many opinions there would be. But to fragile means…to be able to feel…to be human after all.

  5. Eric Alagan says:

    Good thing you gently overcame her insistence and remained with that lady – quite often people do not really know how well or not they are.

    I know the feeling about your team mates. In my four years in the police force when walking into a dark alley – it felt great knowing that a buddy was behind you.

  6. Chatty Owl says:

    We all carry that pride that we’ll be fine, refusing to admit that sometimes we need the help of others.
    Good thing you approached her. Shows such a beautiful side of you…

  7. You are now my 2nd fave Bill! Love this story and am inspired by your tender heart.
    xo
    Diana

  8. It takes a village to raise a child it is said, it takes one person to save a life which I m sure you did for her. You have always been a hero in my eyes and with this act of kindness it just shows you are for others as well. God Bless you my dear one.

  9. So glad you could be there for her. I’m sure it was a good feeling to be able to help her out. I had a hand in saving a life recently and you’re right life is fragile.

  10. Clanmother says:

    You are so right – we are fragile. The more we understand that concept, the more we embrace life and enjoy every moment to its fullest. Another wonderful YARS! πŸ™‚

  11. susank456 says:

    It was a good thing you were there to help her, otherwise I don’t think it would have been a happy ending.
    Yes we’re fragile, but isn’t that what make every day a gift and a treasured moment? A machine wouldn’t understand that.

    • billgncs says:

      Yes, I don’t think she would have made it home. I was quite worried about her when we crossed the street.

      Coherency is something we take for granted. Hope it wasn’t a stroke or heart attack – nausea is one of the symptoms. I will keep my cell with me when I ride now.

      I am the poor man’s George Zimmerman πŸ™‚

      • susank456 says:

        We all have our moments. But you are right about the cell phone, I carry mine whenever I walk the dogs or go hiking. I’ve fallen and tripped over things too many times. I am not the most graceful of sorts.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

