doers and watchers

We stopped at Devil’s Tower on the way home. The extruded magma from a long ago volcano stands a proud challenge to the surroundings, a holy place to the Native Americans, and a Mecca to climbers.

Devil's Tower in the Distance

Devil’s Tower in the Distance

My daughter and I scrambled across boulders near the technical climbing area. It was hot tiring work, but nothing like the climbers faced. Afterwards I thought how life divides us into doers and watchers. Can you find the inspiring doers in the picture below?

Can you find the doers in the picture

Can you find the doers in the picture

How about the watcher, another famous feature of Devil’s Tower, can you recognize the Prairie Dog?

A Prairie Dog watches for danger

A Prairie Dog watches for danger

Life can be tough when you’re little and tasty and there’s eagles and coyotes about.

I think that sometimes we become watchers or doers at the wrong times for improper reasons. There’s a time for both, but if we want to realize our dreams we must ensure that fear doesn’t stop us from doing when the time is right.

May you dare to do.

30 Comments on “doers and watchers”

  1. UnrestingSea says:

    This post is so great. πŸ™‚

  2. Devil’s tower is a BEAST to climb, I would do it again! But not now….thanks for sharing the pics…

  3. words4jp says:

    Great Pics – i , too, had a Close Encounters of the Third kind moment – Now the music is ringing in my ears….. I do agree with the doer/watcher/dare sentiment. fear sucks and it is hard to conquer – I have managed it, but sometimes it is the little things we fear that are the hardest to conquer. I completed a full Ironman triathlon – this took all the daring I had – yet, when it comes to making a simple phone call or facing someone I am intimidated by – I am petrified. Great post!

  4. omtatjuan says:

    They are ants… We were drive 90 and that is a long way off and it looked massive.

  5. Reblogged this on Busy Mind Thinking and commented:
    WOW! My friend just sent me a message to let me know about this place! It’s a must -see!

  6. You are so very right when you stated we become watchers and doers for the wrong reasons. Great post!

  7. May you dare to do so as well. Wonderful words of encouragement – thank you.

  8. Jack Flacco says:

    This was the site to the 1977 movie Close Encounters of the Third Kind by Steven Spielberg. Great movie, and great place! Did you see any aliens? πŸ™‚

  9. Eric Alagan says:

    That second picture really gives a perspective on how huge the magma is – I would not have guessed from the first photograph.

    Yes, there is a time for doing and time for watching, I agree.

    Cheers,
    Eric

  10. Kristi says:

    I love the message of this post Bill. is it you and your daughter climbing? πŸ™‚

    • billgncs says:

      Hi Kristi — we just scrambled across boulders at the base which was fun. Those climbers are much more technical.

      It is inspiring to see them though.

  11. susank456 says:

    I would like to take up climbing, but am afraid of heights.

  12. Wow! On my bucket list for sure.

    • billgncs says:

      the bad lands, devil’s tower, yellowstone – three must sees, but lots of other good stops out west.

      We haven’t been to Glacier National park yet, but we hear that’s wonderful too.

  13. Wise one your are πŸ™‚ Love the pics!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

