san francisco – food

We stopped into John Foley’s Irish Pub and Restaurant for dinner. It was dimly lit loud and raucous, a trend in restaurants that I have never enjoyed but our meal was well worth the noise.

Of course Guinness and Newcastle while we waited for our table

Always a good way to start

Always a good way to start

then mussels ( I have always favored a white wine sauce ) but this whiskey based cream sauce with bacon in it was wonderful. We were dabbing the bread to be sure no mussel or sauce went untasted.

mussels with a whiskey cream sauce and bacon - I'm liking Irish food now!

mussels with a whiskey cream sauce and bacon – I’m liking Irish food now!

Then for our main courses, a lamb shank with glazed carrots, some onion and luscious mashed potatoes with broth dripping and wild mushroom ravioli’s served in a butter sauce with herbs. Lamb shank seems to be an ancient meal, with roots back even beyond the Greeks, and this was slow cooked tender, with just the right herbs to make it a timeless favorite.

I decided on this order. A sip of ale, a bit of lamb and carrot with mashed potatoes and then a bit of bead and butter. Repeat until blissfully satisfied.

savory lamb, rich mushrooms - both delightful

savory lamb, rich mushrooms – both delightful

It is said and I believe that hunger makes the best sauce and traipsing around San Francisco’s hills on foot certainly feeds the appetite. I think this wonderful meal stands on proudly on its own in any conditions.

11 Comments on “san francisco – food”

  1. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I love San Francisco…my husbands family is from Burlingame
    I couldn’t live there I always felt the ground moving literally …
    you sound like you had a wonderful time….it is a beautiful city to have one in…
    take Care…you Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  2. Eric Alagan says:

    You enjoy your food, I see – and consume in moderation too.

    All good wishes and happy appetite 🙂
    Eric

  3. Joyce says:

    I remember San Francisco from way back in the sixties when my husband and I were living in Los Angeles while he attended seminary, and we took trips to San Fran and Sacramento. We had a good meals up there too. These dishes sound yummy, but I’m not much of a ale or beer drinker, just get coffee or hot tea with everything.

  4. Glad you enjoyed your meal and the sights and sounds of San Fran!

  5. Kristi says:

    Sounds like you had really good time and good food. That’s always a good combination. 🙂


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

