tribute

The world lost a great soul recently. When I first discovered I had cancer I came across Jen’s blog. Her memorial is here. She was full of hope, and her heart brimmed with courage and love. How could I be afraid when someone stricken so harhly by this horrible disease fought bravely on against all odds.

I read her blog. We never met and I don’t recall even emailing, but I can say that her life made the world a better place. God speed Jen.

Here is a post on how she and some other brave bloggers touched my heart.

30 Comments on “tribute”

  1. History of the Ancient World says:

    Very moving tribute. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    an incredible tribute…love entwined every word…
    May her family hold the peace she left for them…
    what a beautiful spirit she was…
    Thank you for sharing….
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Thank you for this sharing, Bill.

    God bless Jen,
    Eric

  4. Bill, both this post and the one you gave us a link to are such lovely tributes to a beautiful person. One never knows just how much they bless others in being a better person rather than a bitter person through their life trials.

    Warm wishes as you remember Jen ~ Wendy

  5. helenmidgley says:

    Its heartbreaking when others we have met on our Journey with the big C lose their battles, but tributes like this keep them still with us πŸ™‚

  6. AnneMarie says:

    Your comments were always the very first under each one of Jen’s beautiful posts. I thought you were someone she knew from “the real world” ….. With a very heavy heart, I send my deepest condolences to you.

    AnneMarie

    • billgncs says:

      She was someone who’s light spirit, gentle heart and bold courage helped me face my own cancer.

      I would have been proud to call her “honary adopted daughter” , or friend.

  7. I feel the same way–I never met Jen but felt as if I knew her through her blog. Her writing was so honest & personal. I hate this damned disease.

  8. I’m saddened, and so sorry you lost a friend.

  9. Clanmother says:

    A profound and moving tribute! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about a strong and generous soul. Every day is meaningful for these are the memories that we leave behind for other to cherish.

    β€œDon’t the great tales never end?”
    “No, they never end as tales,” said Frodo. “But the people in them come, and go when their part’s ended. Our part will end later – or sooner.”
    J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers

  10. A beautiful sentiment, and tribute Bill. I checked out your links, i am moved and I think you are a very beautiful person.
    Please take care of yourself. Keep loving your wife and girls, You are a lovely and special person. _Resa xo

  11. Loved your earlier post and Jen’s memorial. I mourn with you at the loss of such a lovely lady and my thoughts are with you and her family.

  12. Kristi says:

    I’m speechless and sad, how life can be so unfair sometimes. 😦

    • billgncs says:

      perhaps the only equalizer is that we love greatly in the time we are granted.

      • Kristi says:

        yeah… I guess Bill, just that the thought of little child left without a loving mother is way too devastating..and here am I dealing with my small stuff as if they’re huge and important.

        • billgncs says:

          yes, the perspective that things could be so much worse is true. When I think of the suffering and indiginty this woman suffered, it breaks my heart.

          But I would say that that things trouble you are important.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

