life list – muir woods

We visited Muir Woods near San Francisco recently. It’s virgin timber, big old redwoods that envelop you in the past and silence.

Just a stand of trees

Just a stand of trees

Virgin timber has never been cut, and some of these trees have been growing for over one thousand years.

living a long time can give personality

living a long time can give personality

I wonder what stories they might tell, of fire, fear and foe, or of love. I wish they whispered to me, but in their silence I hear myself.

Just a tree, that might be three hundred feet high

Just a tree, that might be three hundred feet high

Gigantic comes to mind, majestic too.

dwarfing the people

dwarfing the people

The pattern of these roots reminded me of time, and how we are held together by an intricate web of friends and family and people we may someday meet.

like the tendrils of love that keep us anchored

like the tendrils of love that keep us anchored

Seeing the redwoods was on my mind for many, many years. We saw them in an afternoon of wonder.

May your life and world be full of wonderful things.

57 Comments on “life list – muir woods”

  1. petchary says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Last time I was in SF I wanted to go there, but never made it.

  2. ohnwentsya says:

    Reblogged this on Spirit In Action and commented:
    So beautiful! Thank you for sharing your experience. I have always wanted to visit the redwoods.

  3. Sandra says:

    Such beautiful pictures of the trees. Sometimes, as we hurtle through the heart of the French countryside, I look to the side and into the many forests we pass through, marveling at the idea that possibly no human foot ever ventured between some of those trees. It’s a strangely reassuring thought. I hasten to add, I’m not usually driving when I do this… 😉 Lovely post Bill.

  4. Shannon says:

    Wow! Awesome pictures. I really want to go there!

  5. ohlidia says:

    I’ve been to the Muir woods and LOVED it! So magical…

  6. lisaelskerarvid says:

    Så vakre bilder😃 Du tatt disse bildene? Her skulle jeg likt og hvert😃

    • billgncs says:

      Yes, I took the pictures when we visited. It was a place I had always wanted to go. Ancient places feed our souls. That which is old and strong gives me hope. – bw

      Ja, jeg tok bildene da vi besøkte. Det var et sted jeg hadde alltid ønsket å gå. Eldgamle steder mate våre sjeler. Det som er gammel og sterk gir meg håp.

      • lisaelskerarvid says:

        Utrolig vakkert😃Må ha vært en fantastisk opplevelse😃

        • billgncs says:

          yes, another of my desres it so see the aurora boralis

          we are surrounded by beauty if we take the time to see

          ja, en annen av mine desres det så se aurora boralis

          vi er omgitt av skjønnhet hvis vi tar deg tid til å se

  7. Reblogged this on Busy Mind Thinking and commented:
    As a lover of nature; a tree is something I cannot resist. To wonder what they’ve witnessed…

  8. I have enjoyed my visits to that area too.

    • billgncs says:

      do you have favorite places in Asia where you have been ?

      • Well I think I’ve worked/visited all the countries in Asia as I recall. I loved almost all of them. Each has its particular memory and the wide variety of great foods is one of the happiest. I’ve flown into some of the remotest areas such as Wamana in the mountainous heart of Irian Jaya and a village in the centre of Indonesian Borneo where the only other transportation is bicycle or motorbike. I guess a visit to a hospital in Northern Laos receiving aid from us was an eye opener. I’ll never complain about access to medical attention in the west again! It was always amazing for me to know that just a short flight away were some of the most modern crowded cities in the world. My trips have not always been comfortable I can assure you. Travelling bent over in one of those low ceiling river taxis in Bangladesh was probably my most uncomfortable though travelling sitting on top of my luggage in a crowded minivan in Bihar for hours comes a close second. lol. I guess Myanmar in the 1970s is remembered by the leaking room in the Thamada Hotel (President Hotel of the dim past) I got a raging fungus infection there that necessitated a quick trip to Singapore for good medical attention.

  9. Clanmother says:

    You must have met Treebeard somewhere in the forest. Did you see any Ent wives?

  10. Wow really beautiful and amazing.

  11. I too have visited this magical part of our earth, such beauty there as in your photos and your beautiful beautiful words. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  12. Eric Alagan says:

    To watch, marvel and reflect – must have been a great afternoon lived (not spent).

    Thank you for this sharing,
    Eric

  13. quiall says:

    Life is full of wonder if you have the courage to look.

  14. I’ve always wanted to see those too. I understand that some have roads going through them? Oooh lookie here, what I just googled!

    https://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1280&bih=665&q=road+going+through+redwood+tree&oq=road+going+thro&gs_l=img.1.1.0l3.2897.9072.0.12700.18.11.1.6.6.1.849.2313.0j4j4j6-1.9.0….0…1ac.1.27.img..3.15.1537.7pOqVfmkVMw

  15. omtatjuan says:

    It’s truly beautiful there. I have lived near these woods my whole life and been there but once…. Armstrong Woods north of there is even more impressive…..

  16. Majestic and peacful where the words that came to my mind when I saw these pics. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  17. Chatty Owl says:

    Hikes in woods like that always make my heart skip a beat. Such an overwhelming feeling of the power of nature.

  18. susank456 says:

    Absolutely stunning photos!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

