good day – bad day

The morning started with the post merger CEO stating: “These are difficult times, and some of you are going to lose your jobs.” That can make it a bad day. Then when the Dr. calls and mentions your cancer test is a bit awry, it’s a bad day.

Still, we are promised few things but change. Each day differs from the last, and sometimes we must re-invent ourselves. As an old acquaintance use to say: “I was looking for a job when I found this one.” Seems logical to me.

What made it a good day? We received a check from a donor for our foundation 2wheels2kids.wordpress.com which means another kid gets a bike for Christmas. How can I not smile.

Merry Christmas

23 Comments on “good day – bad day”

  1. You are AMAZING!! Your spirit is full of hope! I will continue to pray for you!

  2. beebeesworld says:

    Its nice to find good in everything beebee

  3. katkasia says:

    Hi! I’ve been wondering how you are…and then I pop over and read this. 😦
    Hope you are OK. The bike initiative sounds great – must investigate further.

  4. Shannon says:

    I really like the “I was looking for a job when I found this one” quote! Hang in there!

  5. Clanmother says:

    Courage – we are in the midst of a difficult global transition. Your words, “Each day differs from the last, and sometimes we must re-invent ourselves,” has the wisdom of the ages. Re-inventing ourselves is not for the faint of heart, yet it within this context, that our family and friends are the means by which we embrace a new reality.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you re: your test results.

  6. Happy thoughts and all good wishes coming to you from TX.

  7. Resa says:

    Sending love, hugs and more love and hugs! _Resa xo

  8. Kristi says:

    I admire your positivity. Will keep you in my thoughts. big hugs.

  9. Lori Lipsky says:

    Your sort of outlook (remembering the good when bad and scary strike) is an encouragement, Bill. I’m thankful for the good news you had, and I’m on the sidelines wishing you well with your job and your health. ~Lori

  10. jobs come and go, you will make it through whatever comes in that respect, the dr and his news , we will pray and stand on faith that all is well and as should be, a healing from the great physician. God blesses those with a kind and giving heart and you fit that for sure.

  11. Hey. You’re in my thoughts and prayers my friend.

  12. And I love you no matter what. We’ll make it.

  13. Eric Alagan says:

    A roller coaster ride there – but I admire your positivity.

    During my career, I’ve actively taken part in 3 mergers and I didn’t allow for even one permanent staff to lose his/her job. But we did let go those on contracts – with full benefits beyond what their contracts promised them.

    All good wishes,
    Eric

    • billgncs says:

      Excellent – a good boss protects his men.

      It’s disheartening to have our strong team come to an end. But for mergers to work, the blood must flow. Not that they will lose benefits, but that the old culture must be absorbed asap.

      I have to suck it up and think of next steps.

      • Eric Alagan says:

        Oh Bill, when I said ‘merger’ – I was on the acquiring side and protected the staff of the target companies. As for my own people – in the last 30 years in management and having gone through several recessions – I did not lose one person to redundancy. Oh they did try – but over my dead body!

  14. susank456 says:

    I hope you have a better day today and your tests have more positive results. I wanted to ask how it went Friday. I have been thinking of you.

    • billgncs says:

      thanks – the blood test indicates some cancer may exist, but a scan of the lymph nodes they suspect showed negative…. so we wait…. How are you ?

      • susank456 says:

        I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

        I’m okay, still dealing with some pain and I get tired easy. I’m working part days and doing what I can. The cold temperatures don’t help.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

