cooper’s hawk – food

My dad enjoyed his cups. But every year for one month he would abstain from drink. Of course he always chose February, the shortest month. I suppose leap years were an extra trial. Therefore I will return in March to the blogging world. Hope to see you in a bit.

It’s funny how pecking order works at a business lunch. The waitress approaches the end of the table and asks the junior member what he prefers for a beverage. He hesitates, then blurts out iced tea. Around the seats she goes, and lemonade, Arnold Palmer ( a Chicago drink of 1/2 lemonade 1/2 iced tea ) , water, coke join the list until she comes to the leader. He looks around, says “I’ll have a glass of wine,” and immediately seven other orders get changed.

Restaurants grow and change, and this one continues to grow and gets better and better.

Cooper’s Hawk has a big wine list as they are a vintner, I took a taste of a Meritage ( a blend which should drink like a Bordeaux ), but it was a bit lite so I settled on a nice oakey chardonnay.

nice oak, clear, no aftertaste - a good wine

nice oak, clear, no aftertaste – a good wine

Of course a larger group means more appetizers — the Mexican egg rolls and calamari were fun, the potstickers outstanding. I even tried the crab-cake, and found it full of crab meat which retained the feel and light flavor crab is so famous for. This was a great warm up.

all good, but the goyza ( potstickers ) and crab cakes were out of this world

all good, but the goyza ( potstickers ) and crab cakes were out of this world

Then the cheese plate and pretzel bread. I suspect that if I were Super-man, pretzel bread might have qualities of kryptonite.

a fun mix - a cheese plate helps conversation

a fun mix – a cheese plate helps conversation

kryptonite to weight watchers.... sigh I'll have one more piece

kryptonite to weight watchers…. sigh I’ll have one more piece

One thing I admire at Cooper’s Hawk is that they really offer good lunch selections with smaller portion size. I chose the pork medallions, mashed potatoes and asparagus. It was Estafee ( a reference to H. Beam Piper’s Fuzzy Papers for Sci-fi fans, which translates to essential and great )

Not to much, but each bit bursting with flavor

Not to much, but each bit bursting with flavor

Then it was time for dessert. I was up for something different, and tried their home-made ice-cream sandwich. Thin slices of banana, a wafer with a crisp toasted texture delicious ice-cream and a very light subtly sweep syrup. Each bite was a delight of texture, balanced flavor, subtly sweet wrapped around the richness of ice cream. This is one of the best desserts I have chanced across.

exceeding every expectation...

exceeding every expectation…

Of course then it’s the expresso ( the smallest amount of coffee possible ) to get through the afternoon.

Great meals are always enhanced by conversation and company. The people and sharing are what makes dining fine.

25 Comments on “cooper’s hawk – food”

  1. Yum! I read this after my meal…just seconds after…my only consolation is that I had baked triple asperagus, but your dessert looks better than my jello with greek yogurt (sigh)

  2. Ha! I love that about the drink order. So true. Everyone waiting for the brave soul to break the ice and order what everybody really wants to order. So true in other instances of life, too. Fear is a funny thing. On another note, I think I’d like that Arnold Palmer drink. I’m a lemon kinda guy!
    Good article, Bill! I enjoyed it!

  3. Shannon says:

    Delicious! You know it’s a good dinner when you have espresso afterwards 🙂

  4. I really shouldn’t of read this first thing in the morning.

  5. rgayer55 says:

    Gee Bill, you’re making me hungry. This stuff looks delicious.

  6. Nice post, the beverage joke being special funny!

    • billgncs says:

      funny how that works.

      When my kids were little, I would go into a Mcdonalds with them, and say “I’ll have some turtle soup, and make it snappy” – and they would litterally wilt 🙂

  7. I’m hungry. I’m guessing while you’re away in February, I will lose weight! haha just kidding. Will miss you!
    Diana

  8. How de-lish! Thanks for sharing this. And be well, and we’ll see you in March! Oh and your closing statement for this post is worth repeating: “Great meals are always enhanced by conversation and company. The people and sharing are what makes dining fine.” That is wonderfully put! Cheers to you. Gina

  9. No wonder you weren’t hungry for dinner!!

    janet

  10. Chatty Owl says:

    Looks really good! And your wine story reminded me of work lunches in the past.. People get smitten and shy, but the minute someone goes for wine, others seem to find their lost balls and order some too.

  11. Eric Alagan says:

    Chardonnay sounds great – I just opened a nice bottle last night for our Chinese New Year familiy reunion dinner – traditional sea food steamboat. Actually, we showed no favouritism and opened five bottles 🙂


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

