older and better

Sifu Mohr once said that we needed to strive to improve all our lives. We looked at him uncomprehendingly, eventually we would age and fail. In the senior instructor’s class our goal was always to train harder, be fiercer, stronger, more powerful. Master Mohr taught us that there is the hard and the soft, the perfect positioning of the arm for a block, flawless footwork, unshakable balance, anticipation and flow. The hard skills will always wane in time, but the soft skills can be honed as long as we are willing.

It’s been a lifetime since I was a martial artist and this is a lesson which took decades to learn. Where else can I better my mind, my spirit, my body, for when we cease to grow, we start to die. While part of me diminishes, I can continue to strive for wisdom, to love better.

There are doors in life that I would have bashed down that I now knock and ask permission to enter. Is that not improvement ?

7 Comments on “older and better”

  1. Resa says:

    I think you’re wise! Maybe now you’re a marital artist! 😎

    • billgncs says:

      Just a grasshopper who had a chance to encounter a true master. What was the lesson? Greatness is a price that must be paid through committment.

      thanks Resa πŸ™‚

  2. my aren’t we being contemplative? I too, knock and ask permission to enter (most times) but I have to say, bashing the door down was fun and I always smile when I think about it! πŸ˜‰

  3. quiall says:

    Brilliant words! We all need to take stock and to understand that as we age we don’t have to get worse, just different.

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    Yes, it took me some time to realise that quite often it is easier to knock, ask and enter —- than to try and bash through.

    We learn πŸ™‚

    Peace,
    Eric

  5. Clanmother says:

    Yes – it is improvement!! You have been missed!!! πŸ™‚


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

