Kappy’s in Skokie – food root beer

In the middle of the cold snap I dropped my wife and daughter off at the airport for a trip to Costa Rica. That left me frozen and forlorn by Skokie Illinois. I stopped at a friendly looking place place called Kappys. A family owned and run place for thirty years, the owner came out and greeted every customer, many by name.

Imagine my surprise when I saw they had a premium root beer on tap, Sprecher’s from Wisconsin.

I'm drowning my sorrows

I’m drowning my sorrows

Since it was early, I went the breakfast comfort route…. Biscuits and gravy, eggs over easy and sausage…. Chicago is a great place to eat, there’s great places at almost every corner.

premium root beer, Kappys a great place to dine in Skokie

premium root beer, Kappys a great place to dine in Skokie

22 Comments on “Kappy’s in Skokie – food root beer”

  1. Oh my gosh that all looks and sounds sooooooooooo good! Thanks for the follow today. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  2. vbholmes says:

    That was definitely an “anything to make yourself feel good” breakfast, Bill–but you had an acceptable excuse.

  3. Clanmother says:

    Yummy!!! I laughed out loud when I saw your photo caption.

    “If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” J.R.R. Tolkien

  4. susank456 says:

    Root beer and eggs – the breakfast of champions!

  5. Was sippin’ on a jug maple syrup when this came in. (too early for wine) 😉
    I hope your wife and daughter have the best time ever!
    I think I’ve already horrified you with my Root Beer gluttony story so will spare you! 😎
    Take care and keep the house clean until they get back! 🙂

  6. Eric Alagan says:

    That root beer looks great – I could drown my sorrows in that too 🙂

    Hope that all is well, Bill.

    Peace,
    Eric

  7. Love it all except the biscuits and gravy…never could wrap my taste buds around those! Did you know we don’t have buscuits and gravy in Canada?

  8. Bumba says:

    An Okie from uh Skokie.

  9. Doesn’t appeal to me at all, especially for breakfast, although I do like a good root beer every now and then.

    janet

  10. WOW talk about a wonderful indulgence! I am extremely hungry and jealous now…glad you had an enjoyable breakfast and drink to drown your sorrows.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

