of cakes and carrots

Almost thirty years ago, we needed a baker to make a wedding cake. We stopped at Arabica on Coventry in Cleveland Heights ( where all the hippies lived ) and asked the baker if he would consider making a carrot cake wedding cake for us. He shrugged his shoulders. Sure I could give it a try. If that cake leaned and wobbled a bit – it sure tasted great.

The other day I was having lunch at Eddie Merlot’s restaurant and the menu called out “world’s greatest carrot cake”.

four layers of delight

four layers of delight

Talk is cheap, but I tried a piece and thought…. this is pretty good, they just might be right.

So for Jan’s 60th birthday party ( like I was going to bake a cake ) I asked and Eddie Merlot’s graciously agreed to make me a cake.

carrot cake, friends and champagne

carrot cake, friends and champagne

So we celebrated with food, carrot cake, and a few bottles of champagne.

May you celebrate many joys….

43 Comments on “of cakes and carrots”

  1. Food, champagne and loved ones, that is the definition of happiness and love! Happy belated birthday to Jen! She looks amazing! 🙂

  2. Waltermarks says:

    Talk of food late at night always makes me want some, and that looks plenty good. But late night snacks lead to belt loosening and more workout tomorrow. Thanks,
    Mark

  3. YUM! You are making me hungry! My favorite cake in the whole world!

  4. I keep checking in to see if you’re posting….waiting….waiting…patiently waiting…..grin

  5. Clanmother says:

    What a wonderful way to celebrate! Carrot Cake and Champagne say “I love you…”.

  6. billgncs, Great anecdote on carrot cake……must have been good! And thanks for “Liking my “Excuse Us…” Phil

  7. Eric Alagan says:

    Carrot cake and a ‘few’ bottles of champagne – Hic! Whassa party thash wash 🙂

    Congratulations and all good wishes,
    Eric

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog today and liking my post. I hope you come again. I sure do like carrot cake and that one in the photo looks oh so yummy! Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  9. Shannon says:

    it was the best carrot cake I have ever had. What a great celebration!

  10. Chatty Owl says:

    Celebrations are fun!!!

  11. Resa says:

    Happy Birthday to Jan! 🙂
    Bill, there’s a type O in your post! 😎

  12. It surely looks good. Happy belated birthday Janet.

  13. twoscamps says:

    You CAN have your cake and eat too it! (years and years sometimes have no meaning). Cheers, Maureen

  14. are you okay
    Bill? I am worried about the injury sustained from Jan for telling her age LOL…maybe the carrot cake made up for it …Happy Birthday Jan and many many more!

  15. Happy Birthday to Jan who looks nowhere near 60 and I love carrot cake!

  16. Kristi says:

    That’s so sweet….cake looks yum….and are you sure you typed her age correctly?….she doesn’t look even almost close to 60, not even 50. Happy birthday! 🙂

  17. Bumba says:

    Many more celebrations!

  18. And it was so good…all of it!

  19. Happy Birthday to you sweetheart. I love carrot cake, and champaign!


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

