Chicagoland hodgepodge – cycling

After an almost endless winter, on the first good day we took the train downtown for a road trip.

We got down early enough so the traffic was light and the drivers are cycling tolerant but those little bike lanes make city cycling exciting! As the city wakes, the energy is incredible.

past all the crazy down-town riding to the fun

past all the crazy down-town riding to the fun

There are so many things to see – we rode past a rugby team practicing, then along the beach front “Gold Coast” just full of young people and dogs strolling, jogging, riding, fetching – every possible combination.

I saw a woman body builder riding, and secretly coveted her triceps and her small stomach πŸ™‚ We lunched at Super-dog, a wonderful one of a kind hot-dog place Chicagoans so love – there we saw a group of Hispanic kids acting like Hells Angels on their souped up mopeds.

with a sign like this, you know it has to be good

with a sign like this, you know it has to be good

We passed a cancer walk, and a bike race, and a run for charity and if you ride far enough, a temple.

the magnificent temple

the magnificent temple

We saw a model in a diaphronous gown posing in the wind at the waterfront – holding a yoga warrior pose while her gown danced in the wind. When we rode by and the photographer had to stop, she told us “Thanks that pose was killing me”

We passed a sculpture park, where we saw Adam and Eve and Martians – Skokie has a park that is full of modern sculpture making statements even I could comprehend.

Adam, Eve, and me.  Sculpture parks satisfy that need to touch...

Adam, Eve, and me. Sculpture parks satisfy that need to touch…

but the image that stay with me — a little girl, perhaps three or four standing in the woods before her mother playing her tiny violin. Chicago is unusual in all things. I needn’t have ridden 62 miles to discern that, but like the woman cranking her wheelchair bike over the hill – some journeys are worth the effort.

21 Comments on “Chicagoland hodgepodge – cycling”

  1. ManicDdaily says:

    Sounds like an awfully lot of fun. K.

  2. ladynyo says:

    Ah, gee….Atlanta has NOTHING like this! You are one lucky guy!

    Lady Nyo

  3. One of my favorite cities. I imagine it would be wonderful to cycle.

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    Sounds like you’ve had an enjoyable ride.

    I would not dream of cycling into town on a weekend, let alone a week day – the drivers here are quite oblivious and intolerant towards road bikers.

  5. Thanks for taking me on that ride with you. Sounds like a wonderful day.

  6. Resa says:

    What a great day! Chicago sounds wonderful.

  7. Thanks for taking me along on the ride! My favourite part? Glad you asked! Where you secretly covet the small stomach of the body builder and then eat a hotdog! πŸ˜‰
    Diana xo

  8. Harvey Young says:

    Your post reminds me of why I love Chicago so much. Thanks for the images and the reminders of the joy of a beautiful weekend day.

  9. Harvey Young says:

    Thanks for the thoughtful post. I love Chicago and you helped to remind me of why I do.

  10. Chatty Owl says:

    It must feel amazing to feel the spring in the air. πŸ™‚


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

