Ditkas – food chicago

If you watch football you know of Mike Ditka, the Hall of Fame player and coach. He has a namesake restaurant in Chicago and after losing a bet on my beloved Browns against the Bears we settled with lunch at the restaurant of “Da Coach.”

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the milieu was upscale with some memorabilia but it was tastefully presented, this place was about the food, comfort food with large portions.

We started with a glass of cab, the “Hall of Fame” red and it was quite good. The house brand is made out near Napa by Terlato wines.

A Ditka/Terlato cab drinks very nicely

A Ditka/Terlato cab drinks very nicely

We had our eye on the filet mignon sliders, but chose the pot roast nachos. They were great, the kind of snack that you just can’t leave unfinished. The delicate meat combined with the salty chips and a zesty but not too hot halipeno slices was just right.

The pot roast nachos were outstanding - but almost a full meal

The pot roast nachos were outstanding – but almost a full meal

The bread rolls were excellent, but not photogenic. For my entree I had a pork chop ( well done by request ) served with mashed sweet potatoes and apple chutney and cherry jus with a side of creamed corn. The chop was cooked perfectly, and I admit I gnawed a bit on the bone after the meat had been dispatched. The sauce was very good.

charred perfectly, with apple chutney

charred perfectly, with apple chutney

The creamed corn was not your traditional canned green-giant corn of my youth. This wasn’t sweet and had a hint of garlic but was smooth and rich to the taste. It was outstanding. My friend took the remaining corn home and they fed it to his very aged mother in law who had been off her feed. She finished every bite. I suppose that solidifies the cream corn as comfort food!

putting the c in comfort food

putting the c in comfort food

For dessert, just a little vanilla ice-cream with chocolate sauce. The perfect ending to an excellent meal.

the perfect finish

the perfect finish

11 Comments on “Ditkas – food chicago”

  1. brian miller says:

    i stepped in the door to a ditka’s once…or was that shula’s…whichever it was a might over my pay grade…ha….dinner sounds marvelous to me…

  2. I just finished lunch and now my stomach is growling. Dang! I love the restaurant choices in Chicago!

  3. Resa says:

    The nachos look amazing! Of course I have them “sans carne”, I had nachos and red wine at the airport on my way to Wpg. They are in fact, very comforting! πŸ™‚

  4. Clanmother says:

    You will both ways!! What a sumptuous meal!

  5. Eric Alagan says:

    Mouth watering, Bill. Did you say you ‘lost’ the bet – it looks kinda planned πŸ™‚

  6. Ok Bill, this entire meal sounds perfect to me – YUM! I guess you can win even when you lose a bet, huh?
    Diana xo


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

