just a thought

The other day someone responded to a comment I made and started it with “IMHO”. I looked up the acronym and it means In My Humble Opinion. It made me think that maybe he was proud he was humble. Can that be? Or the opinion was humble. I suppose if the evidence was weak, or in your heart you didn’t truly believe in the argument it could be humble.

I ended up replying, “Humble is good.”

That’s just a thought, IMHO.

14 Comments on “just a thought”

  1. susank456 says:

    I’m not good with acronyms, I have to think to hard. It’s just easier to say or type the words. That makes me very old doesn’t it?

  2. You know Bill, I had to look up humble and it’s not quite the meaning I’ve associated with the word. I’ve always understood the word as more of an antonym to arrogant as opposed to confidant esteem. Your take, however, seems to be spot on!

    1. having or showing a modest or low estimate of one’s own importance.
    “he was humble about his stature as one of rock history’s most influential guitarists”

    synonyms: meek, deferential, respectful, submissive, diffident, self-effacing, unassertive

    I am humbled by your grasp of this subject. 🙂

    IMHO is one acronym that I’ve heard before. When I come across one I have never heard, I reply with one that I’ve just made up. That’ll teach ’em!

    Diana xo

  3. shanechall says:

    Oh weird, I always assumed it meant In My Honest Opinion.

  4. Oh text lingo…Heres one you can look up (I have been wondering what it means ). WCW

    Humble is good.


Share your thoughts, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

